1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet doesn't work on my laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ediway, Jan 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    hey,

    i have a problem. internet doesn't work on my laptop. after getting some worms that prevented me to open any programs, i did a recover from previous back up. but since then my internet doesn't work (with or without cable).

    wirelessly: my laptop says im connected to the router, but it says that i have no connection to internet. sometimes it says that i m connected to internet but even so when i try to open my browsers (ieplorer or firefox), it just says "unable to connect"

    With wire: when i trie to connect via a cable directly to the modem, it does the same thing, it says iam connected to the modem but i have limited access, and the browsers say that it can't open internet.

    i am using windows7, have a dell computer and a belkin N1 wireless router, and using cable.

    i have read a few post, and tried a few solutions but nothing helped. i tried to restore the winsock using the netsh command, i used winsockxpfix, i used lspfix, i deleted my norton virus program, i reset my router to default, i deleted my cache-cookie-history from the browser, i think my driver are up to date, i check my manager device (they all work), nothing helped.

    when i type the command ipconfig, it gives me:

    ipv4 adress: 192.168.2.2
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.2.1

    when i type the "ping yahoo.com" i get:
    4 received, 4 sent, 0 lost

    my computer works fine and i can go online. i use wire for my computer and try the same wire to my laptop but not working. i tries another cable throught the router but still nothing.

    please help.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Since you may still have a virus/malware on your computer, I've asked that this thread be checked out by a Moderator and moved to the appropriate section of the site.
     
  3. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    ok tks
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you are using IE as your browser: Control Panel - Internet Options - Connections tab - LAN Settings... - none of the 3 choices on that page should be selected.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    i just tried that but didn't work
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    While attempting to connect by ethernet and wireless please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. davida50000

    davida50000

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    I had a similar issue as this at one point...

    In Windows 7 go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network Connections > Double Click Local Area Connection > Click the Properties Button:

    You should get a list and above it it says "the connection uses the following items". From the items in the list click something that should be similar to "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)". Once you have clicked that ensure that "Obtain IP Address automatically" and "Obtain DNS Server Automatically" are ticked...

    This worked for me...Good luck! :)
     
  8. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    i tried the internet protocol in local area connection and my ip address and dns server are already in auto mode.
     
  9. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    so, i tried the nbtstat-n ipconfig/all and right click select all and enter but it didn't do nothing.
    i tried nbtstat-n (on the paste and copy below i wrote nbstat-n insteat of nbtstat-n but i already tried with nststat-n and it didn't work) ipconfig/all and enter and it said that it is not recognized as a internal or external command. all i could do was ipconfig/all and here is the result:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>nbstat-n ipconfig/all
    'nbstat-n' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ediway-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-8C-FF-87
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-AC-6F-51-4F-91
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1520 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-C
    ard
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-8C-FF-87
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:1876:79ff:1234:111b:d814:48ce:3918(P
    referred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:1876:79ff:1234:c9f5:3fb8:4160:20c5(P
    referred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::111b:d814:48ce:3918%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 05, 2011 2:18:44 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 03, 2020 2:18:44 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21c:dfff:fea3:9961%11
    192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 197400574
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-17-6A-43-B8-AC-6F-51-4F-91

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    192.168.2.1
    68.87.77.134
    68.87.72.134
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F88061EF-833F-48E3-8BA4-AB919604A580}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  10. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    i don't know if there is any relation to my problem but i also noticed that my network name is: Ediway-PC_network_1 (and that where my laptop is connected to). but on my computer (desktop) it said that it is connected to network 3, and im not sure where the network 3 comes from.
    well, just wanted to add this (that might be a part of the problem). tks.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's OK that you didn't get the nbtstat -n output, 'cause I did not intend to ask for that anyhow.

    The Media disconnected for the ethernet problem indicates a defective router LAN port, cable or NIC. Try another computer using the same cable and router LAN port.

    Your wireless shows a good IP configuration, so try the following tests. You run these in a Command prompt window and show the results the same way you did the ipconfig /all

    ping 192.168.2.2 (or whatever your IPv4 address now is)


    What non-Windows security applications do, or did, you have on the machine?

    ping 192.168.2.1

    ping 8.8.4.4

    ping yahoo.com
     
  12. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\ediway>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\ediway>ping 8.8.4.4

    Pinging 8.8.4.4 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 8.8.4.4:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 33ms, Average = 30ms

    C:\Users\ediway>yahoo.com
    'yahoo.com' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\ediway>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [98.137.149.56] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=52
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=52
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=52
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 98.137.149.56:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 73ms, Maximum = 75ms, Average = 74ms

    C:\Users\ediway>ping 192.168.2.2

    Pinging 192.168.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\ediway>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:1876:79ff:1234:111b:d814:48ce:3918
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:1876:79ff:1234:f05c:3daa:f4de:c2cb
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::111b:d814:48ce:3918%11
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21c:dfff:fea3:9961%11
    192.168.2.1

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F88061EF-833F-48E3-8BA4-AB919604A580}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\ediway>
     
  13. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    well today i went to the U to buy my books (going back to school monday), and tried to connect my laptop to internet over there, but it didn't work. so i guess there is something wrong with my setting and not with my router.

    i also noticed that when clickiing on control panel, network and internet, network and sharing center, and change adapter setting, i have 3 connections.

    one is the local area connection, the second is the wireless network connection (it shows that it is connected to the router), and the third one is wireless network connection 2 (microsofl virtual wifi miniport adapter)

    i am not sure that's the third connection for. i tried to disable the wireless netwok connection (the second one), and when doing that the third connection disappears. as soon as i enable the wireless network connection, the wireless network connection 2 comes back. i also tried to disable the wireless connection 2, but even with that i still cannot go online :(

    should i just reformat my laptop to its default setting just as when i bought it?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your pings show that you have internet access and that DNS is working. So, browser(s) not working probably means a non-Windows security application mis-configured, corrupted or its data definitions out of date. Suggest that you uninstall any that you have and run the Removal Tool if one is provided.

    You could try an IE Reset.

    If still having problems then it likely is still some malware, or at least some corruption we haven't found, and a format of the partition and "Recover" of the system to factory defaults would be my choice. You are also welcome to visit the Virus & Other Malware Removal forum.
     
  15. ediway

    ediway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    i tried the ie reset but didn't work. guess ill have to my a full recover then. well tks for the efforts and the help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972683

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice