1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet drop out despite normal speed tests

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jeutter36, Apr 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jeutter36

Jeutter36 Thread Starter

Hi everyone,
    I'm NOT tech savvy, so please bear with me. We live in the boonies, and the best internet we can get is point to point radio frequency. I can't get answers from them, so I'm hoping y'all can help out. Our internet frequently drops out, although it remains fully connected. I can run a normal speedtest, but cannot connect across a single device. In checking CPU and memory usage, there does not appear to be anything running in the background. What's going on?

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    What results for the "normal speedtest"?

What do you mean by "it remains fully connected" along with "cannot connect across a single device"?

What devices are you using? How do they connect to your LAN?

3. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    How are running a speedtest while you cannot connect? Like a phone app or do you mean before it drops out?

What router are you using? Does rebooting the router fix it or do you need to reboot your wireless radio?

4. Jeutter36

Jeutter36 Thread Starter