1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Drops Randomly

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MaybeKarma, Mar 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MaybeKarma

    MaybeKarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    My Computer: HP Pavilion Slimline s5710t series computer.
    Info: OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 2814 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 , 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 294021 MB, Free - 149337 MB; D: Total - 11120 MB, Free - 1625 MB;
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, NARRA5, 5.00, 105429150003457
    Antivirus: Norton Security Suite, Updated and Enabled

    My Wireless-N Adapter: Linksys AE1000 (Link) http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Ad...VproductId97826164VVcatId551966VVviewprod.htm

    My Router: DIR-655 XTREME N GIGABIT ROUTER (Link) http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=530

    Problem: My computer sometimes just for no reason drops the internet. I'm not using it or if I'm in the middle of loading a web page or playing a game. I have check the firmware full updated it. Plugging it straight into the router it works fine. The only problem is my router is in my living room and its about 35 feet from my computer and it goes thru 2 thin walls to get there. So anyone of you smarter people have any idea other than having my computer out in the living room hard wired into my router? Also my xbox 360 is 3 feet away from my comp and I never have a connection issue with it. Let me know if you need any more info.

    Edit:: I have Comcast
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,848
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see the following tests when its working and then repeat them all when it disconnects and post here

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. MaybeKarma

    MaybeKarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    It only disconnects for around 5-10 seconds just long enough to kick me from what ever I'm downloading/Uploading or what game I am playing
     
  4. MaybeKarma

    MaybeKarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    ipconfig =
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RawRDinosaur
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys AE1000 #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-7F-74-F7-2D-1B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5053:8728:909e:96f5%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 22, 2011 12:32:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 12:32:39 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 359169908
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-CF-F2-3F-70-71-BC-0A-08-FA
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net.:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.102%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1074:1225:bc48:5b2e(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1074:1225:bc48:5b2e%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    Ping: Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 2ms

    [​IMG]
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,848
    First Name:
    Wayne
    EDIT -
    can we stilll see the xirrus screen shot , to see the wireless environment and if interference - ignore as posted


    I would update the adapter driver - whats the make and model of the pc
    got to
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
    network updates
    right click on the wireless adapter and update and allow to go onto internet to search for an updated driver
    if that does not resolve
    then uninstal the adapter and reboot and let windows re detect

    EDIT -
    if still issues - take any wireless security OFF and see if that improves at all - ignore as you are currently open

    also try using open google DNS
    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/
    theres a configuration link on the page showing how to setup
     
  6. MaybeKarma

    MaybeKarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    so much more work than I thought it was gonna be xD there is no update for my adapter so I'll uninstall and let it re detect it.

    edit:: so far so good no drops yet. I'll let you know if it drops again. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/987403

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice