1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet & email dies

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by laman, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. laman

    laman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Everything runs fine for about 3 minutes, then the internet access and email slows down to a snails pace. The tool bar was changed and the url addresses in lower left corner of toolbar goes from url name to url number. I have to reboot and again it works for only a couple of minutes. I have used spybot, sysclean etc and they all say my system is clean of trojans and viruses. Any ideas on what is causing this and how to fix it. Thanks.
     
  2. Topkat

    Topkat

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    First, I'd just like to point out that Spybot and sysclean cannot determine whether there is a virus/trojan on your pc.

    Do an online scan here:
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    Let's see what process' are running and see what might be causing this.
    go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
     
  3. laman

    laman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Here is the hijack this log.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
    Scan saved at 11:21:07 PM, on 8/20/2003
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALWIL SOFTWARE\AVAST4\ASHSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CD-WRITER PLUS\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAMS\FREESURFER MK II\FREE SURFER\FS20.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\ATI\ATIDESK\ATISCHED.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    D:\PROGRAMS\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {C12B4EC1-1F65-11D3-91CA-00104B9C4765} - d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\CopernicFind.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Atikey] Atitask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiCwd32] Aticwd32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\PROGRA~1\CD-WRI~1\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [freesurfer] C:\PROGRAMS\FREESURFER MK II\FREE SURFER\fs20.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [avast!] C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashserv.exe
    O4 - Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ATI\atidesk\ATISCHED.EXE
    O4 - User Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ATI\atidesk\ATISCHED.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Open Frame in &New Window - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\frm2new.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Highlight - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\highlight.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Web Search - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\selsearch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Links List - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\urllist.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom &In - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomin.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom O&ut - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomout.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: I&mages List - C:\WINDOWS\Web\imglist.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Search Using Copernic - file://d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\Search Extension.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Copy Location - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\graburl.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Translate (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Translate Using Gist-In-Time (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Launch Copernic (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Copernic (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Offline (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to Tr&usted Zone (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to R&estricted Zone (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Wallpaper (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Toolbar Wallpaper (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Free Surfer (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Free Surfer (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .avi: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .bmp: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .viv: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .wav: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mid: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .qt: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .psd: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin2.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .tiff: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .tif: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
    O15 - Trusted Zone: *.windowsupdate.com
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir8d196.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4248083C-9656-11D2-8B7F-00105A17847A} - http://downloads.mplayer.com/MplayerAutoInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?1060616318120
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
     
  4. Topkat

    Topkat

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Run Hijack This again and put a check by these. Close all browser windows and "Fix checked"

    R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {C12B4EC1-1F65-11D3-91CA-00104B9C4765} - d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\CopernicFind.dll
    O15 - Trusted Zone: *.windowsupdate.com

    Did the online scan show anything, because nothing is evident from your log there.

    Also, you have mentioned Spybot S&D which you are using to detect spyware, diallers and hijackers. Well I would recommend that you use Lavasoft AdAware as well.
    There's no harm in having both programmes, just restart your pc after scanning with one, before you do a scan with the other.

    Go here http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/ and download Adaware 6
    Install the program and launch it.

    I strongly recommend that you read the help file to familiarize yourself with the program.

    Before running the scan look at the top of the main window and you will see a Gear Icon. This is where you configure the settings. Click on that and then in the next window that pops up click on the "Scanning" tab on the left side. Under "Drives and Folders" put a check by "Scan within archives" and below that under "Memory and Registry" put a check by all the options there.
    The click on the "Tweak" tab and under "Scanning engine" put a check by "Unload recognized processes during scanning" ...........then......under "Cleaning engine" put a ckeck by "Automatically try to unregister objects prior to deletion" and "Let windows remove files in use at next reboot" then click "Proceed"
    Next in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on "Check for updates now" and get the latest referencefiles.
    After getting the latest referencefiles you are ready to scan.

    Click "Start" and in the next window make sure "Active in depth scanning" is checked then click "Next" and the scan will begin.
    When it is finished let it fix everything it finds.

    Restart your computer.
     
  5. laman

    laman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    I fixed the things in hijack this and downloaded and ran ad-alarm (16 things fixed). I could not get the online scan to work so nothing there. The same problem still exits. After 3 minutes following a reboot I cannot access any internet sites, always page not found errors. I tried two things, using the internet and accessing websites and just letting the computer sit idle after a reboot. It didn't make a difference. Internet explorer does not work but email access is okay. Any more suggestions. Thanks.
     
  6. Topkat

    Topkat

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    It's worrying that the scan isn't working for you, unless there's settings you need to change. Do you get any error messages?
    I've heard of viruses disabling the AntiVirus on your machine before, but never anything that can stop an online scan.

    I'll bump this up anyway because I'm not sure what it might be, someone else should be able to help!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/163374

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice