internet & email dies

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

laman

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
7
Everything runs fine for about 3 minutes, then the internet access and email slows down to a snails pace. The tool bar was changed and the url addresses in lower left corner of toolbar goes from url name to url number. I have to reboot and again it works for only a couple of minutes. I have used spybot, sysclean etc and they all say my system is clean of trojans and viruses. Any ideas on what is causing this and how to fix it. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
401
First, I'd just like to point out that Spybot and sysclean cannot determine whether there is a virus/trojan on your pc.

Do an online scan here:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Let's see what process' are running and see what might be causing this.
go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
 

laman

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
7
Here is the hijack this log.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
Scan saved at 11:21:07 PM, on 8/20/2003
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALWIL SOFTWARE\AVAST4\ASHSERV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\CD-WRITER PLUS\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
C:\PROGRAMS\FREESURFER MK II\FREE SURFER\FS20.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\ATI\ATIDESK\ATISCHED.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
D:\PROGRAMS\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {C12B4EC1-1F65-11D3-91CA-00104B9C4765} - d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\CopernicFind.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Atikey] Atitask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiCwd32] Aticwd32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\PROGRA~1\CD-WRI~1\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [freesurfer] C:\PROGRAMS\FREESURFER MK II\FREE SURFER\fs20.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [avast!] C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashserv.exe
O4 - Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ATI\atidesk\ATISCHED.EXE
O4 - User Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ATI\atidesk\ATISCHED.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: Open Frame in &New Window - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\frm2new.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Highlight - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\highlight.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Web Search - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\selsearch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Links List - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\urllist.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom &In - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomin.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Zoom O&ut - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\zoomout.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: I&mages List - C:\WINDOWS\Web\imglist.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Search Using Copernic - file://d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\Search Extension.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Copy Location - C:\WINDOWS\WEB\graburl.htm
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Translate (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Translate Using Gist-In-Time (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Launch Copernic (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Copernic (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Offline (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to Tr&usted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Add to R&estricted Zone (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Toolbar Wallpaper (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Free Surfer (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Free Surfer (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .avi: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .bmp: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .viv: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .wav: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .mid: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .qt: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .psd: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin2.dll
O12 - Plugin for .tiff: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .tif: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.windowsupdate.com
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir8d196.cab
O16 - DPF: {4248083C-9656-11D2-8B7F-00105A17847A} - http://downloads.mplayer.com/MplayerAutoInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?1060616318120
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
401
Run Hijack This again and put a check by these. Close all browser windows and "Fix checked"

R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {C12B4EC1-1F65-11D3-91CA-00104B9C4765} - d:\programs\copernic 2000 pro\CopernicFind.dll
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.windowsupdate.com

Did the online scan show anything, because nothing is evident from your log there.

Also, you have mentioned Spybot S&D which you are using to detect spyware, diallers and hijackers. Well I would recommend that you use Lavasoft AdAware as well.
There's no harm in having both programmes, just restart your pc after scanning with one, before you do a scan with the other.

Go here http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/ and download Adaware 6
Install the program and launch it.

I strongly recommend that you read the help file to familiarize yourself with the program.

Before running the scan look at the top of the main window and you will see a Gear Icon. This is where you configure the settings. Click on that and then in the next window that pops up click on the "Scanning" tab on the left side. Under "Drives and Folders" put a check by "Scan within archives" and below that under "Memory and Registry" put a check by all the options there.
The click on the "Tweak" tab and under "Scanning engine" put a check by "Unload recognized processes during scanning" ...........then......under "Cleaning engine" put a ckeck by "Automatically try to unregister objects prior to deletion" and "Let windows remove files in use at next reboot" then click "Proceed"
Next in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on "Check for updates now" and get the latest referencefiles.
After getting the latest referencefiles you are ready to scan.

Click "Start" and in the next window make sure "Active in depth scanning" is checked then click "Next" and the scan will begin.
When it is finished let it fix everything it finds.

Restart your computer.
 

laman

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
7
I fixed the things in hijack this and downloaded and ran ad-alarm (16 things fixed). I could not get the online scan to work so nothing there. The same problem still exits. After 3 minutes following a reboot I cannot access any internet sites, always page not found errors. I tried two things, using the internet and accessing websites and just letting the computer sit idle after a reboot. It didn't make a difference. Internet explorer does not work but email access is okay. Any more suggestions. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
401
It's worrying that the scan isn't working for you, unless there's settings you need to change. Do you get any error messages?
I've heard of viruses disabling the AntiVirus on your machine before, but never anything that can stop an online scan.

I'll bump this up anyway because I'm not sure what it might be, someone else should be able to help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top