1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet esplorer script error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jackok749, Dec 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    About everytime I log on to the internet with any URL an error message pops up and says An error has occured in the script on this page and gives a line # & char & error permision is denied with code 0 and the URL that I had used! The asked Do you want to continue running scripts on this page? With a yes & No below. No matter which choice I make it goes away for a short time and then pops up again & again.I went to Explorer and in the box about checking script is left blank, which I understand is supposed to be blank if you don't want this message to come up!
    This is very annoying!
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi jackok749


    Did you also tick disable script debugging
     
  3. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    If you don't answer - we can't help you

    if you did tick disable script debugging

    and untick display a notification......

    and you arestill getting the error - then I suggest you do a virus scan here :-

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    steam
     
  4. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    I tick disable script debugging and untick display a nitificationand I still get the error !
     
  5. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    Also my virus scan data is upto date with norton anti virus. I ran a virus scan with results of no viruses.
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.4 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist14.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here

    steam
     
  7. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    StartupList report, 12/19/2002, 1:58:06 PM
    StartupList version: 1.40.1
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\EXECUTIVE SOFTWARE\DISKEEPERWORKSTATION\DKSERVICE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DELL\RESOLUTION ASSISTANT\COMMON\BIN\RXMON9X.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LTMSG.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
    C:\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MRTMNGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
    C:\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
    C:\PRT9540\prtscr95.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\IOMEGA\TOOLS\IMGICON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\JUNO\BIN\JUNO.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Quicken Startup.lnk = C:\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE
    Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    Resolution Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\MotiveAssistant\bin\matcli.exe
    IomegaWare.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\IomegaWare\Commander.exe
    Printscreen 95.lnk = C:\PRT9540\PRT95MIN.EXE
    Iomega QuikSync.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\QuikSync\QuikSync.exe
    Iomega Icons.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Tools\imgicon.exe
    Iomega Startup Options.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Tools\imgstart.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    RxMon = C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\Common\bin\RxMon9x.exe
    MadExe = C:\PROGRAM FILES\DELL\RESOLUTION ASSISTANT\COMMON\BIN\LaunchRA.exe -boot
    Microsoft Works Portfolio = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers
    LTWinModem1 = ltmsg.exe 9
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe
    WorksFUD = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
    QAGENT = C:\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    QuickTime Task = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    ccApp = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    ccRegVfy = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    DkService = C:\Program Files\Executive Software\DiskeeperWorkstation\DkService.exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    ccEvtMgr = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    NSCheck = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NSCHECK.EXE /check
    MSMSGS = "C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\msmsgs.exe" /background
    Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    Weather = C:\PROGRAM FILES\AWS\WEATHERBUG\WEATHER.EXE 1

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

    [^RNA] *
    StubPath = rundll rnasetup.dll,installoptionalcomponent rna

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\UNDERW~2.SCR
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 12/12/2002, 20:30:38)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_INS5576._MP
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\ZDATAI51.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_WUTL951.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_INS5576._MP
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\ZDATAI51.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_WUTL951.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CORECOMP.INI
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CTL3D32.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VALUE.SHL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ISUNINST.EXE
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP2.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\10210FA.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CORECOMP.INI
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CTL3D32.DLL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VALUE.SHL
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ISUNINST.EXE
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP1.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\1012A7A.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\DELL\RESOLU~1\COMMON\BIN

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    @C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    @echo off
    REM Notes:
    REM DOSSTART.BAT is run whenenver you choose "Restart the computer
    REM in MS-DOS mode" from the Shutdown menu in Windows. It allows
    REM you to load programs that you might not want loaded in Windows,
    REM (because they have functional equivalents) but that you do
    REM want loaded under MS-DOS. The two primary candidates for
    REM this are MSCDEX and a real mode driver for the mouse you ship
    REM with your system. Commands that you want present in both Windows
    REM and MS-DOS should be placed in the Autoexec.bat in the
    REM \Image directory of your reference server. Please note that for
    REM MSCDEX you will need to load the corresponding real-mode CD
    REM driver in Config.sys. This driver won't be used by Windows 98
    REM but will be available prior to and after Windows 98 exits.
    REM
    REM This file is also helpful if you want to F8 boot into MS-DOS 7.0
    REM before Windows loads and access the CD-ROM. All you have to do
    REM is press F8 and then run DOSSTART to load MSCDEX and your real
    REM mode mouse driver (no need to remember the command line parameters
    REM for these two files.
    REM
    REM - You MUST explicitly specify the CD ROM Drive Letter for MSCDEX.
    REM - The string following the /D: statement must explicitly match
    REM the string in CONFIG.SYS following your CD-ROM device driver.
    REM MSCDEX.EXE /D:OEMCD001 /l:d
    REM MOUSE.EXE
    LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~8\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\JCCATCH.DLL - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B}
    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ALXIE328.DLL - {6AF9BC61-3CC5-42A7-82D1-FFC2562A7289}
    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_4.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}
    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [&Yahoo! Companion]
    InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_4.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/toolbar/my/yiebio4_0_2_10.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Teoma Installer Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TEOMABAB.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://sp.ask.com/docs/teoma/toolbar/download/teomab-inst.cab

    [{9DBAFCCF-592F-FFFF-FFFF-00608CEC297C}]
    CODEBASE = http://download.weatherbug.com/minibug/tricklers/AWS/minibuginstaller.cab

    [ContentAuditX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

    [BrowseFolderPopup Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\SHARED\MGBRWFLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/Shared/MGBrwFld.cab

    [eShare Web Collaboration Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\EMAGIC.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://livesupport.americancentury.com/netagent/objects/emagic.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 12,349 bytes
    Report generated in 0.237 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  8. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    This is spyware - use spybot to get rid of it and any other spyware

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ALXIE328.DLL

    Please Download and install SpyBot,

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybotsd11r3.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'


    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE

    This is an uneccessary resource hog - go to start\run - type msconfig click ok - click startup tab and untick LOADQM.EXE

    reboot your computer

    steam
     
  9. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    I used your IRL for for spy bot but it came back as corrupted. So I looked up lurkhere and found the file & downloaded it and ran it and followed all of your suggestions and then rebooted. As soon as I got back on the internet and went to my email the same screen came up that there was I script error as always and asked what I wanted to do; yes,no and the same old song. I can't figure out where this is coming from?
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    When you ran Spybot, did it target nscheck.exe (marketscore) and remove it? You still have it from what I can see checking your logged IP:

    The host name is: proxy.ia4.marketscore.com

    You can also try this removal method. Close out IE and your internet connection:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Select Run...
    3. Type in NSCheck /uninstall
    4. Click OK.
    5. Reboot afterwards
     
  11. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Try a repair of ie

    Go to start\settings\control panel

    click add\remove programs

    scroll down to "Microsoft internet explorer" and click add\remove

    You will be given 3 options

    choose "repair internet explorer" and click ok
     
  12. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    I ran udate on Internet express and rebooted and the same error message came up as soon as I went and download Juno email.
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  14. jackok749

    jackok749 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    I looked up and used Spybot and I even updated to the latest version and ran the service. It says that Market score is part of spybot! I tried to run "96WinDir\NSCheck.exe" /unistall with Quotation marks and without in DOS in Win and a separet DOS
    program and it give nothing but bad command or fine name!
    I still have the same problem.
     
  15. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
    There are several things there you'd REALLY like to lose - among them is WeatherBug. Can you post the results from after running SpyBotSD ? Before you go much further you should download lspfix form http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm in case you break the TCP/IP stack (and can't get to the net).
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/108943