1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet explo...help please

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by raymondd, Oct 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Hi

    I have a recurrent problem with internet explorer I'm hoping you can help with.

    Every so often an internet explorer window pops up saying microsoft internet explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

    I have opened the error report but I am not able to send you it as the report does not allow you to copy and paste. I have sent the error signature hoping this might be enough information to determine the cause.

    AppName:ie explore.exe AppVer:60 2800.1106 Modname:rpcrt4.dll Modver:4.71.2900.2 Offset:002dbd1

    If this information is no use for tracing the problem perhaps someone could let me know how I can get a copy of the error report on to this board.

    appreciate any help you can offer!

    thanx


    raymond

    P.S.I have recently cleared my system of adware and spyware, which may be worth knowing.
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Internet Explorer 5.x/6.x comes with a repair tool. To use it, go to the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel; Scroll and click to highlight 'Microsoft Internet Explorer 5/6.x' in the Install/Uninstall window; Then click on the Add/Remove button; Select 'Repair' the current installation of Internet Explorer radio button; Click on OK. Restart your computer when prompted. If your not using WinXP that is.
     
  3. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    The first thing we need to know is what o/s you are using ?

    find the file "rpcrt4.dll"

    In win98 it will be in the C:/ windows/system

    right click the file..

    What is the version ? and size of the file ?
     
  4. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    thanx for quick reply Steamwiz

    I am running windows 98SE.

    There are two of those files I found. Details below.

    Rpcrt4.dll
    File Version 4.71.2900
    Size 313kb
    Archive File
    location c:\windows\System


    rpcrt4.dll
    File Version 4.71.2900
    size 332kb
    Archive File
    location c:\windows\Sys\dcom95\oldole

    appreciated!

    raymond
     
  5. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    hi

    Should I delete one of these rpcrt.dll files? Could this be what is causing the problem?

    raymond
     
  6. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    hi

    Should I delete one of these rpcrt.dll files? Could this be what is causing the problem?

    raymond
     
  7. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
  8. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    thanx Steamwiz

    just ran the prog, hope it sorts the problem!

    raymond
     
  9. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Steamwiz

    there is no change. Internet explorer is still receiving a problem, error signature rpcrt4.dll. Should i delete this file from the registry?

    raymond
     
  10. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    I wouldn't delete either file - the one in c:\windows\System
    is required - if it's corrupt it can be replaced - the program you just ran should have given you the option to do that.

    As for the the extra one in the DCOM folder - I have no idea what effect deleting that may have.

    What surprises me is that both files are the same version - yet different sizes

    I have win98 first edition and my version is different to yours - so I can't use it to compare.

    The next step is to find your version on the net - and replace it from there.

    Take a look at this link - many people are having the same problem as you.

    http://www.newbie.org/help/messages/5219.html
     
  11. raymondd

    raymondd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    thanx again Steamwiz, I'll check that out.

    raymond
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169527

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice