1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Explorer 6

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by CharlesMac, Dec 17, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CharlesMac

    CharlesMac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I have recently upgraded to IE 6. Since that time there are a few web sites that I cannot find the server - i.e. "The page cannot be displayed" comes up. I would like to know if running this version has anything to do with it.

    I am not running a fire wall, and I have resetting web settings under Internet Options.

    Would appreciate any assistance.
     
  2. Rikku

    Rikku

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    743
    Are these sites that you used to be able to get to with your previous version of Internet Explorer?
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    Start by doing the following:

    Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
    Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
    Go to the Privacy tabs, and delete all cookies .
    Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
    Next, on to the Security tab, highlight 'Internet, and click restore defaults there as well.

    Go to Start/Find/files or folders, and search for a file called HOSTS (not HOSTS.SAM which is a sample file).
    If you find it, open it and delete all web page entries.

    Now go to Start - Run (type each line below separately, then press OK)

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


    Note: you should see a brief message after each entry.
    Reboot and test IE - New Window, repost with your results.

    Some (and this does refer to Windows 98 only) have reported that reverting back to an older oleaut32.dll version from their CD did the trick.

    So if you're running Win98, my next advice is to restore Oleaut32.dll from your Windows CD-ROM with System File Checker: How to Extract Original Compressed Windows Files

    Good luck,
     
  4. CharlesMac

    CharlesMac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks guys for the responses. Sorry I was so late responding.

    To Rikku: Yes, these are web site that I could access in previous versions of I. E.

    To: Tony: I tried both of your suggestions and there are still at least two web sites I cannot open that I could open previously. I have contacted both of them by phone and they could not help me.

    Another guy in the office was able to open the web sites easily.

    We are using a DSL connection with a router. Could this be part of the problem?

    Thanks :(
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    If it's just one or two sites, you'd really think of it being either a temp or cookies issue.

    You're sure you're not running any application that allow you to block sites containing certain strings, content, etcetera, like Atguard, Norton Internet Security, and the like?

    Try this:

    Start up in Ms-DOS.
    Type the following lines, each one followed by clicking enter:

    cd windows (unless you're in C:\Windows already, obviously)
    smartdrv
    deltree history
    deltree tempor~1
    deltree cookies
    exit
    (to return to Windows)

    Good luck,
     
  6. CharlesMac

    CharlesMac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the assistance Tony.

    I tried the MS-DOS suggestions and they may have helped. Its hard to know, but in looking at another computer in our office I discovered what may have been the problem.

    I opened the tools menu of the browser and went to Internet Options and then to Security where I unchecked "Use PCT 1.0 and SSL 3.0.

    When I typed the web sites this time into the IE Browser the sites that I could not open before opened.

    As best I can tell the problem is resolved. :D
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Great! :)

    I hope so.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62058

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice