Internet Explorer can't explore - help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
My up-to-date IE 6 suddenly stopped working...gets "Page cannot be displayed" in ~1 second after attempting any link, vs. normal browse time of 30 seconds or so before giving up.

MY CONNECTION: Tele LAN via wife's puter to DSL, with two dial-up backup options. Problem's the same on both LAN and dial-up connections.

WHAT WORKS: Outlook Express 6, both backup browsers (Netscape and Opera), LAN communications/file sharing, all other Win98 SE functions and applications including AVG and Ad-Aware which both successfully check for updates.

WHAT I'VE DONE:
   Reboots and power cycles
   Uninstalled IE/OE6...same problem with IE 5
   Scandisk (including surface scan) in DOS mode - no problems

Anybody....HELP!

-- whit
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2002
Messages
366
another thought....do you have a firewall and is it permiting internet access
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Nope, no firewall, plus my other browsers are working.

Edit: Oops, didn't see Bill's first note. I'll give that a try, although same problem with both IE6 and IE5 I reverted to? Doesn't seem likely, but beggers can't be choosers! lol Thanks
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Bill...checked out your link, but that's for XP and I have W98. Also, I've uninstalled IE6 (IE5 had the same problem), then reinstalled IE6 so evidently IE6 itself is ok.

Anyway, I found this page with some more searching of MS's knowledge base which sounded possible, but couldn't complete the steps. DOS Command mode doesn't list any directory in Windows directory that's labeled "Temporary Internet Files," so couldn't complete the step to delete the suspected corrupted file "index.dat" which Win mode wouldn't let me touch. Any suggestions on that?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
91
Read this MSKB Article...

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;281679

An easier way to fix this is to copy the below code into Notepad corresponding to your Windows Version. After copying the code into Notepad click "file" then "save as" then name it "fixie.bat" (USE QUOTES WHEN NAMING IT!) and save it to your C: drive or somewhere you can find it. After saving it make sure ALL Internet Explorer windows are closed. Not minimized...totally exited. Then double click the file and see if that helps.. here is the code...

For Windows 9x/ME

PHP:
@echo off 
cls 
regsvr32 urlmon.dll 
regsvr32 Url.dll 
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll 
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll 
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll 
regsvr32 Shell32.dll 
regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll 
regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll 
regsvr32 Msjava.dll 
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll 
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll 
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll 
regsvr32 Browseui.dll 
goto eof
:eof
For Windows NT (including XP and 2000)

PHP:
@echo off 
cls 
regsvr32 urlmon.dll 
regsvr32 Url.dll 
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll 
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll 
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll 
regsvr32 Shell32.dll 
regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll 
regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll 
regsvr32 Msjava.dll 
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll 
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll 
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll 
regsvr32 Browseui.dll 
regsvr32 Shell32.dll 
goto end 
:end
After double clicking the fixie.bat file you'll see a bunch of popups..just go ahead and hit "OK" to the popups then open Internet Explorer again and see if it works.
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Skyman...out of desperation, I tried a "repair" on the IE6 I just reinstalled...no change after reboot.

HS...no luck with that routine either. MSDos window showed up listing "bad command or file name" 13 times, plus IE Options screens showed up, but no other pop-ups. Also, none of my symptoms related to the MSKB article you referred me to, so didn't try anything from that.

Anymore ideas you guys, or anyone else?
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
25
This sounds exactly like my friend's problem... I've been told to verify if the DNS is working properly, but I don't know how to do this... Maybe some one can help us with this...Thanks
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Hi Julie, thanks for bringing this to the top on the topic list...I'm surprised you found it buried somewhere in the stack.

Just an update...I've exhausted all the options suggested here so far, plus my own I've been trying, so am currently being supported by Microsoft's out-sourced support group on a paid-for incident basis. While that's still on-going for the past couple weeks, no break-throughs yet, although they've had me jumping through hoops. There's loads of MS Knowledge Base articles too that relate and make for painful reading, but I've read most of them and stepped through some without success...tis a puzzler alright.

On your friend's problem and the DNS thought, that's certainly a critical and related function to explore, although in my case, I believe DNS is done by the host computer on my LAN, plus both my backup Netscape and Opera browsers (which must use DNS also) work, so I doubt it's a factor for me...plus I wouldn't have a clue on how to verify DNS is ok other than derive that fact from my other browsers working.

Anyway, if a miraculous solution develops short of buying a new computer or reinstalling Win98 (or an upgrade) with all the problems associated with doing that, I'll try and remember to post something here FYI. Thanks again for your interest.

-- whit
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
25
Hi,

I also have 2 messages on the microsoft news server, if anything comes up I'll post it here also. Thanks for the tip on Netscape, I'll have her install it and see if she can access the web with it... Thanks !
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Problem is, Julie, if she can't access the web, how's she going to D/L or install Netscape without a CD for it?

--whit
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
25
Weird thing is that it works fine when she uses her 56 k access... Her problem sounds like yours, but it may be a little more confusing... When using her ADSL connection, If she writes the name of the website, for example www.google.com, the page cannot be displayed, but when she types in the IP address of the website (216.239.59.99) the page appears... She only has that problem with IE when using her ADSL connection but it works fine with the 56 Kbps... But back to your problem, is it only your computer that has this problem or does your wife's pc also has it ?
 

whit44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
48
Last thing first, nope, no problem on my wife's host computer. Your friend's problem, however, sound to me as though it could very well be related to a DNS glitch. Unfortunately, I've never figured out quite how the DNS function is apportioned between the internet server and the user's PC, although I believe both are involved. Just curious, has she discussed it with her DSL's ISP tech support? Sometimes they can help sort it out.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
25
try copying Google's IP address in IE and let me know if it works... 216.239.59.99
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top