Internet Explorer connection auto-switch?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
Hmph. Internet Explorer is bugging me at the moment.

Tools/Internet Options/Connections tab: Those 3 radio buttons are usually set to 'Always dial my default connection.' However, everytime I set it to this option and press OK, a few minutes later it switches back to 'Never dial a connection'! (i.e. Not literally 'every few minutes.' Just every time I close the window, every time I disconnect, that sort of thing.)

As this is very annoying every time I have to connect to the Internet, I want to see if there's anything causing this that you know of. Thanks in advance.

(I have not yet considered the possibility of a virus...(however unlikely that may seem, hehe.))
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
If that is not the problem....Could it be that you are not logged in as administrator? Not exactly sure if its a problem with IE but you could still run a repair of it from add/remove programs. Select it from the list and select remove which will bring up three more options. Choose repair and when complete reboot.
 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
TW56: Yes I do. Sorry.

BillC: I am logged in as Administrator (Win2000). I'm not daring to re-install IE, I don't think it's a problem with that anyway.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
When you set " Always Dial My Default Connection" do you hit set default. Also I assume you have a connection added in the Dial up Settings box. Have you used the Connection wizard?
I would try BillC's suggestion. it wont hurt anything.
 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
Ok, I'll try BillC's suggestion. However I still think that the function is meant to be used for more critical faults with IE, not piddling things like this that is probably only the result of something I accidentally changed and overlooked.

I'm not the type of person who does stupid things like forgetting to set a default and then selecting the 'dial default' option (i.e. a stupid person), I already have set one. Sometimes, as well as switching to 'Never dial a connection' it switches my default to 'None' as well! Naughty IE.

I also don't need a damn Connection Wizard to get it set up. Only people with no brains use wizards to do everything. Tut.

I'm being terribly arrogant here aren't I? Sorry. I'll try to be more grateful for your help. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Nobody said you were a stupid person. Sometimes things will slip your mind. happens to me all the time. Just trying to narrow things down for you. I really think the repair may work. It is a good thing for IE once in a while because it is may by MS. Also you may try running the virus scan and doing a hijack this scan as well. You can get hijack this here:
http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
I doubt HijackThis will help, but here you go anyway...

Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
Scan saved at 09:39:43, on 29/09/2003
Platform: Windows 2000 SP3 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\CTSvcCDA.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\stisvc.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINNT\System32\Ltmoh.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\winnt\system32\msiexec16.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\Program Files\[email protected]\[email protected]
C:\WINNT\System32\internat.exe
C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\PPWebCap.exe
C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\GetRight\getright.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\GetRight\getright.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\unzipped\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\winnt\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\winnt\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LtMoh] C:\WINNT\System32\Ltmoh.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GLSetIT32] C:\winnt\system32\msiexec16.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiPTA] Atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [seticlient] C:\Program Files\[email protected]\[email protected] -min
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [internat.exe] internat.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PPWebCap] C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\PPWebCap.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: Freeserve Connection Kit.lnk = C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe
O4 - Global Startup: GetRight - Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\GetRight\getright.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\GetRight\GRdownload.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\GetRight\GRbrowse.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37864.3039930556
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {FEC3E5A3-50F7-4B0C-97D8-01CF69DFBFC7} (Measurement Service Client) - http://ccon.madonion.com/global/msc.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{5D8A2420-184C-4CEB-A0F0-73C8D98C6096}: NameServer = 195.92.195.95 195.92.195.94
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well, you do have an Optix Pro type backdoor trojan running, so a good start would be to get rid of that one first...

Check and have Hijack This fix the following:

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GLSetIT32] C:\winnt\system32\msiexec16.exe

Now reboot, and delete that C:\winnt\system32\msiexec16.exe file itself.
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
yes a HJT log is very frequently helpful in these cases

the most likely reason is that you have the freeserve connection kit dialler running and freeserve expect you to dial up via their dialler, not by using the IE/windows dialler. the FS dialler tries to disable the inbuilt windows/IE dialler



The reason for this is to balance the server load and FS will automatically switch you to the server/telephone number with the least number of users to attempt to give a good connection/throughput.
 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
TonyKlein: Thanks, I wondered what that program running in the background was! :) You're dead meat, sucka Trojan.

dvk01: That would make sense, although in my experience the Connection Kit merely supplies different Freeserve numbers to dial when something goes wrong, eg. the line is busy etc. My view was that IE and the Connection Kit were supposed to work in harmony, not conflict. And it's never tried to do something like this before.

However, you have a valid point, and I shall disable the Kit and see if that helps.
 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
SpyBot's Secure Shredder made short work of that Trojan. A thought strikes: could it have been the Trojan causing the problem?




(That's a rhetorical question by the way)
 

Adam_Black

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
141
I disabled the Freeserve Connection Kit at Startup and bing-bada-boom, it works. I'm willing to accept the Kit as the cause of the problem, although it seems highly unusual why it started doing this.

Thanks to everyone for all your help and suggestions, esp. dvk01 for your clever theory.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top