1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Explorer hyperlinks not working

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kqn73, Oct 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kqn73

kqn73 Thread Starter

Greetings to all fellow techies! I am a computer novice in some ways and cannot understand why recently, when I go to click on a link to a website from my email, or from my home page, the hourglass simply locks into its mode, I see another explorer button show up in the taskbar, but it will not link me over to the respective artivle to read or site to visit, etc. It recently started doing this, and under "Internet Options" when I click the advanced button I clicked on go to default settings, and the problem still persists! Does it have anything to do with a Java setting, and can anyone please help me with a number of troubleshooting suggestions?? It is very frustrating and has rendered my browser dysfunctional.
    Also, if I were to redownload the latest version of IE, which I have now, would it simply overlap this current one, without my losing all my settings, and homepage etc.??
    It is also happening in my Outlook Express email program, where it will not do anything if someone sends me a URL link or the likes. The computer has an Internet Explorer window that is blank, showing my desktop screen only.
    Any help and troubleshooting suggestions greatly appreciated....maybe installing a fresh browser over it is the way to go....but will I lose all my settings. But since it's also happening in Outlook Express I am very concerned about the problem.....and do not know what to do.
    Thank you for reading this, and please help, if possible.

2. jimi

jimi

Try Click Start / Run / regsvr32 urlmon.dll

credit mobo if this works i just searched