internet explorer not displaying pages in full

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
hello there im having a problem with my internet explorer,i recently installed avg antivirus and since i have done that its not displaying the whole web pages i go on.it appears to be blocking certain aspects of the pages for example when i go on gametrailers.com it is missing a middle part where it displays the latest videos and when i do a manual search and click on the video i want to watch it says done at the bottom of the explorer screen but hasnt loaded up the video or anything.your help much appreciated thanks.

paul
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
it may be blocking flash some how - add blocking

I dont have AVG - just seeing if theres a setting for ADD/POPUP blocking in AVG settings

Version * appears to block flash by default, can see the setting though

are you using a free version ???
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
that would be the problem, I dont know yet how to switch off the ad blocker, buts its mentioned as an issue, most solutions appear to be to use the older version
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
thanks for the reply,could you recommend any links to download the older free version?
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
ok i gave avast a go and im getting the same problem.not really sure where to go from here
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
with AVAST - you must have another Blocker on the system somewhere

can you post what firewall and any other antivirus programs you may have
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
i have windows firewall turned on and all the windows other security features i.e. defender and whatever avast uses.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
if it started when you put AVG in then taking AVG off should have stopped it, unless it also installed a toolbar like yahoo, google which has a blocker in it

Why not try a restore to before you installed AVG
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
well the whole thing was annoying the hell out of me so i just reformatted in the end and reinstalled vista fresh,bitextreme i know,then i brought a copy of mcafee and plonked that on and everything is fine now,thanks for the help along the way though,always get plentyof advice and awnsers on here.(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top