1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Explorer Problem for win 98

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by iltat, Jan 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iltat

    iltat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Hi ya'll, I'm Billy and I've encountered a problem with IE. I'm a student at Texas Tech University, and I really need to access their website (www.ttu.edu). Unfortunately, I can't. Here are the three ways I've tried to access their site:
    1. Type in the URL into the address bar (in both IE and Navigator [I downloaded Navigator thinking the problem was an IE one, but that didn't help either]) and click enter. I am routed to a Yahoo! search results page as if I had inputted www.ttu.edu into the search box at Yahoo!. If I watch the space at the bottom that says things such as "Opening page www.ttu.edu", etc., it first says it's opening www.ttu.edu, then changes and says "auto.search.msn.com" ANY IDEA HOW TO GET RID OF THAT?
    2. Once at said search page, it of course returns my search with the first possible link being "www.ttu.edu". So I click the link and I receive a "Page Cannot be Displayed" error. Hopefully you are all familiar with this error page. If not, type in www."a random jumble of words".com and you'll probably be able to find my error page.
    3. I then decided that maybe the Tech site was down. So I called my friend (who proceeded to access the page with ease and grace on his PC). So I tried linking from another page to another page on the Tech server (eraider.ttu.edu). Again, no dice, 1st the Yahoo! search thing, then the error message.

    Being the curious type, I tried testing this situation with some other sites. "www.tamu.edu" (Texas A&M's homepage), "www.ou.edu" (University of Oklahoma's homepage), and a couple others cause the same type of problem.

    I've arrived at the conclusion that my computer is just not in favor of higher education. But it does access Ohio State's, Oklahoma State's, and Alabama's websites without pause. This problem started while in my hometown near Ft. Worth, TX on one ISP, and now has continued on another ISP, so I don't believe it's a problem with the ISPs. Also, this very PC, with no changes, used to access all of these sites without hesitation, the problem just started when it traveled home with me at the start of last summer. I've also stumped the techie guys here at Tech that I've asked, and so far 21 people online who thought they would be able to fix the prob, so I appreciate any help I can get. Thanks a lot ya'll.
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi iltat

    Sounds like your browser has been hijacked

    Please Download and install SpyBot,

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybot14.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    Remove everything pre-ticked in Red


    Try this first

    steam
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Would you also please do this:

    Go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads.php#det , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please show us its contents.
     
  4. iltat

    iltat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the try man, but I ran the spybot thing, and got a lot of stuff from Brilliant Digital Entertainment fixed, but I still get the same result when typing in www.ttu.edu.

    To the second responder (sorry, I don't have the screen up to where I can see your name right now), here's the log:
    (This is copied out of IE, which I used to open the log, if it should look different, lemme know and I can run the whole thing again and copy it straight out of there if it's possible)

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.91.2
    Scan saved at 10:54:26 AM, on 1/21/03
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=http://www.google.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page=http://www.google.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page=http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL=http://www.nts-online.net
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title=Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by NTS, Communications
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default)=about:blank
    F1 - win.ini: load=WPSLOAD.EXE
    N1 - Netscape 4: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.yahoo.com/"); (C:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\iltat\prefs.js)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1E6F1D6A-1F20-11D4-8859-00A0CCE26836} - C:\PROGRA~1\SVAPLA~1\SVAPLA~1.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\PROGRA~1\HPCD-W~1\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP CD-Writer] C:\Program Files\HP CD-Writer\Mmenu\hpcdtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DXM6Patch_981116] C:\WINDOWS\p_981116.exe /Q:A
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PMXInit] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\pmxinit.exe -SetupRunOnce
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV DefAlert] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\DEFALERT.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\POPROXY.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Morpheus] C:\Program Files\Morpheus\Morpheus.exe /SYSTRAY
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KAZAA] C:\PROGRAM FILES\KAZAA\KAZAA.EXE /SYSTRAY
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SVAPlayer] C:\Program Files\SVA Player\SVAPLAYER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Startup: Reality Fusion GameCam SE.lnk = C:\Program Files\Reality Fusion\Reality Fusion GameCam SE\Program\RFTray.exe
    O4 - Startup: Ulead Photo Express 3.0 SE Calendar Checker.lnk = C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 3.0 SE\CalCheck.exe
    O4 - Startup: Change Wallpaper.lnk = C:\My Documents\playlists\paper\Paper.exe
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.nts-online.net
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://free.aol.com
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CC05BC12-2AA2-4AC7-AC81-0E40F83B1ADF} (Live365Player Class) - http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab
    O16 - DPF: {018B7EC3-EECA-11D3-8E71-0000E82C6C0D} - http://home.quicknet.nl/mw/prive/jzn/luke/software/mp3search.exe
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/essentials/ymmapi.dll
    O16 - DPF: {6BB594E2-6E4D-4CC9-98B0-931C323F9165} (DepHlp Control) - http://www.worldwinner.com/games/shared/dephlp.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Graffiti (DepHlp Control) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/grt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: JT's Blocks (DepHlp Control) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/blt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Go (DepHlp Control) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/gt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Towers 2.0 (DepHlp Control) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/ywt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker (DepHlp Control) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1954A4B1-9627-4CF2-A041-58AA2045CB35} (Brix6ie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/1250/ftp.coupons.com/v6/brix6ie.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F8DCFE8E-7B2B-4FF8-B8A7-A52B6C4B0170} (AvzPrintingComponent Class) - http://valpak.nesteggz.com/NEUtility/PrintingComponents/AvzPrintingActiveX1600.cab

    (Also, from my amatuer perspective when reading this, I notice some downloads from yahoo, etc., but I'm positive that the ones from yahoo are about 15 months old, and the problem is only 8 months old.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Well, there's nothing there that seems like the direct culprit.

    You do have the SVA player, which is regarded as spyware.

    Run Hijack This, and check ALL of the items in bold. Doublecheck so as to be sure not to miss a single one.
    Next, shut down all Internet Explorer Windows, and have HT fix all checked.
    Reboot when you're done.

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1E6F1D6A-1F20-11D4-8859-00A0CCE26836} - C:\PROGRA~1\SVAPLA~1\SVAPLA~1.DLL

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DXM6Patch_981116] C:\WINDOWS\p_981116.exe /Q:A
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SVAPlayer] C:\Program Files\SVA Player\SVAPLAYER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"

    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.nts-online.net
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://free.aol.com

    O16 - DPF: {CC05BC12-2AA2-4AC7-AC81-0E40F83B1ADF} (Live365Player Class) - http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab
    O16 - DPF: {018B7EC3-EECA-11D3-8E71-0000E82C6C0D} - http://home.quicknet.nl/mw/prive/jz...e/mp3search.exe
    O16 - DPF: {6BB594E2-6E4D-4CC9-98B0-931C323F9165} (DepHlp Control) - http://www.worldwinner.com/games/shared/dephlp.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1954A4B1-9627-4CF2-A041-58AA2045CB35} (Brix6ie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/1.../v6/brix6ie.cab



    It can also be helpful to delete your cache folders in MS-DOS, thus forcing MS to create new ones, containing brand new index.dat files, on reboot.

    Go to Start > Shutdown > Start the computer in MS-DOS mode.
    Type the following lines, pressing ENTER after each one:


    cd\
    cd windows
    smartdrv
    deltree tempor~1
    deltree history
    deltree cookies

    NOTE: Press Y if you are prompted to confirm any deletion

    Type win (or 'exit'), or hit ctrl-alt-delete followed by clicking enter in order to return to Windows

    NOTE: This is assuming the path to these folders is the default one
    Is they're located elsewhere/named differently, adapt the path accordingly.

    Now empty the contents of your Windows\Temp directory completely

    Tell us whether that helps.

    Cheers,
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    you are probably trying to use a dns server that isn't the dns server for your current isp

    check your dun settings specifically the dns settings, it should be use automatic dns server, sometimes when you move from college to home and vice versa and change isps they put specific dns servers in the settings. frequently isps change their dns server ip addresses


    It definitely seems that the dns server of your current isp is not recognising .edu

    Or you have a hosts file set up that is prohibiting acess to .edu domains

    Derek
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    Billy as a test try to access www.ttu.edu by first going to http://www.megaproxy.com/
    and typing www.ttu.edu in the entry box.

    If you can get to the site that way , it definitely confirms that it's a DNS problem with your current ISP

    Derek
     
  8. iltat

    iltat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    I tried the suggestion about going to megaportal or whatever it was called and typing the address in. It worked....sorta.... It accessed the site (and numerous other sites on the Tech server), but was unable to show a single picture (gave me the red x thingy)or use Javascript. I've never had a problem with Javascript before, and I know I didn't turn Java "off." Does that help clear up the prob any?

    I have to go to an important thing for a couple hours, so I won't be back for about 6 hours, but then I'll tackle the other suggestion. Thanks again for all ya'll's help.
     
  9. iltat

    iltat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    I tried what you said Tony, but still no dice. Same results as before. Lemme know if there's anything else you can think of.

    Billy

    P.S. Thanks for the suggestion Derek, but like I said, no pictures will load, and suddenly my pc can't download Java, so it's really not that much help to me since my main use for the site requires me to use Java.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Internet Explorer Problem
  1. goldrush
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,172
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114332

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice