1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet explorer problem

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by fac73, Sep 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fac73

    fac73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    hi all,

    for a couple of weeks now, i have been getting a LOT of "the page cannot be displayed" when trying to access various sites. i've been busy enough to half ignore but now its just incredibly frustrating. i have no clue what to do... any advice is appreciated...

    and its not that these sites are down, it seems very random, sometimes they'll display sometimes they wont, including this website, google, bbc.co.uk, weather.com, etc...

    thanks in anticipation
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,149
    First Name:
    Derek
    There have been a lot of problems with certain UK ISPs recently, I had problems similar to you and I use NTL broadband, I had to keep refreshing the browser, something to do with the dns servers and the latest worms/viruses spreading.

    but to check that something hasn't hijacked your browser & is trying to sendd you to a defunct dodgy site then:

    go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
     
  3. fac73

    fac73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    thanks for the reply :)
    i am also on NTL broadband, i havent found refreshing the page to work though, - sometimes deleting cookies/temp files and rebooting has helped, but thats incedibly tedious

    my hijack this log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
    Scan saved at 11:18:12 AM, on 9/24/2003
    Platform: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\Apache.exe
    C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\Apache.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\MySql\bin\mysqld-nt.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\stisvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winampa.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 2\MsgPlus.exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files\FotoStation Easy\FotoStation Easy AutoLaunch.exe
    C:\Program Files\Nikon\NkView5\NkvMon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp psc 700 series\FRU\Remind32.exe
    C:\Program Files\ICONDESK\IconDesk.exe
    C:\MySql\bin\winmysqladmin.exe
    C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Soulseek\slsk.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Jen\My Documents\Applications\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
    N2 - Netscape 6: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CProgram%20Files%5CNetscape%5CNetscape%206%5Csearchplugins%5CSBWeb_01.src"); (C:\Documents and Settings\Jen\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\p9nno96f.slt\prefs.js)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\system32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winampa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVCOMS] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver\LVCOMS.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINNT\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPAIO_PrintFolderMgr] C:\WINNT\system32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\hpoopm07.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DeadAIM] rundll32.exe "C:\Program Files\AIM\\DeadAIM.ocm",ExportedCheckODLs
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MessengerPlus2] "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 2\MsgPlus.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [internat.exe] internat.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MessengerPlus2] "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 2\MsgPlus.exe" /WinStart
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: Hewlett-Packard Recorder.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp psc 700 series\FRU\Remind32.exe
    O4 - Startup: ICONDESK.lnk = C:\Program Files\ICONDESK\IconDesk.exe
    O4 - Startup: WinMySQLadmin.lnk = C:\MySql\bin\winmysqladmin.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: FotoStation Easy AutoLaunch.lnk = C:\Program Files\FotoStation Easy\FotoStation Easy AutoLaunch.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HPAiODevice.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp psc 700 series\bin\hpodev07.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: Monitor Apache Servers.lnk = C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\ApacheMonitor.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: NkvMon.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Nikon\NkView5\NkvMon.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O14 - IERESET.INF: SEARCH_PAGE_URL=
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=
    O16 - DPF: {33564D57-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/6/E/F6E491A6-77E1-4E20-9F5F-94901338C922/wmv9VCM.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/d052c1d7d32ead/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37856.3721180556
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash/cabs/swflash.cab
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,149
    First Name:
    Derek
  5. fac73

    fac73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    thanks, i'll see if any of this helps :)
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,149
    First Name:
    Derek
    NTL seem to be especially bad again tonight, I am getting no end of page not found messages, it's definitely something to do with NTL & it's DNSA servers because if I use a dial up ISP I get no problems
     
  7. fac73

    fac73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    yeah, i tried following the link you gave but nothing has changed, so i guess we just have the short straw in all this and must... wait... or change isps... hehe

    thanks for the advice :)
     
  8. BoWillis

    BoWillis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    you can also clear the DNS cache to see if that helps as well.... under start>run>type CMD and hit ok
    Then at the C:\ prompt type= ipconfig /flushdns
    Press the up arrow on the keyboard and it will enter the same info again and then press enter....do this a couple of times and see if it helps.....
     
  9. fac73

    fac73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    well you learn something new everyday. i had tried /release and /renew to see if that helped, i had no idea this little trick existed...! thanks, i'll keep my fingers crossed...
    the annoying thing about problems like this is that you dont know they're solved until it doesnt happen... hehe...

    thanks again :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167034

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice