1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet explorer toolbars,,need help

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by ben616, Apr 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    hi in internet explorer,the search option will not work,when i press it the window comes up but it says ,the page cannot be displayed, the same message as when you type the wrong address.
    i went into customize search settings and theres 2 options, search works when i put it to ,use one search service, but does'nt work on the normal one i use which is ,use search assistant, it says the page cannot be displayed, does anyone know how i can fix this,every other toolbar option works.
    ben
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    What operating system ? And what version of internet explorer..

    Also run these.
    First please get Spybot S&D to clear out most of the spyware.

    Short tutorial and download link here:
    http://tomcoyote.org/SPYBOT/

    Fix everything SpybotSD labels in red.

    Then after reboot:
    Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log, load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
    __________________
     
  3. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    hi,,, i downloaded everything and done the scan,then u said put it in notepad.
    when i press save log i can't find the notepad,when i go to ,program files,then,accessories,,it just comes up ,hyper terminal.
    how do i get it to notepad?
     
  4. beefy

    beefy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Try

    Start>Run
    When the box comes up type in Notepad

    This will start the notepad function.
     
  5. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    i got it into notepad but i can only get it saved as a ,log file, and i can't send it here as a log file,, how do i change it to a valid file extension?

    MOBO thanks for showing me spybot S&D,,it fixed a heap of other problems,,before i could'nt run the disk defragmenter and a few other things but now after using spybot they all run good and faster,,thanks heaps.

    but my toolbars search button will still not work,,i have'nt fixed anything in ,,hijack this,, i'm still trying to send it here:(
     
  6. jwbirdsong

    jwbirdsong

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    710
    In Notepad DON"T save it..Use SAVE AS instead... then for name use whatever.TXT...bottom line(File Type)=*.* All Files....
     
  7. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    i have been saving it as ,SAVE AS,, but it still just saves it as a log file,

    when i go,to ,save IN, i go,to ,accessories, then ,,hyperterminal comes up,then i put hyperterminal to ,,all files,,then i saved it but it still comes up log file.
    when i went to look in notepad the next day notepad won't work??

    a window appears saying C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE is not a valid win32 application

    what have i done??
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What operating system are you running? Do you have problems with other file associations?
     
  9. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    i've got pentium 4,,windows me millennium edition,

    i'm just having problems with notepad and wordpad,,both of them are the ones i tryed to save it to,,but all i did was try to save it,
    also what is hyper terminal?

    cause when i'm in SAVE IN (looking for notepad) i go to accessories then all that comes up is hyper terminal,,,that's how i saved it in notepad the first time,,i pressed save on hyper terminal and it came up in notepad but as a log file,then i found out that i can't send it here by log file,,
    so i deleted that file in notepad then saved it again as ,all files, but it still comes up as a log file?

    about the hyper terminal file, when i'm in the save window i bring up hyper terminal it's on log file so i go to ,save as type, and put it to all files,a list appears below hyper terminal ,but notepad is'nt there so i saved it in hyper terminal in all files,,but still comes up log file,,,,,,,
    then i turned off computer 1 hour later turn it on and notepad won't work.

    if anyone understands all that,,can u help me please
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You can just change the file ending of the log file to get it here. Just change .log to .txt.

    Try going to Control Panel, Folder Options, File Types tab. Scroll down to txt and click the Restore button to return the default file association.
     
  11. ben616

    ben616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    i tryed going to folder options,,file types tab,,i scrolled down to .txt.
    but there is no restore button.

    my main problem now is i get this message when trying to run notepad:

    ,,,C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE is not a valid Win32 application,,,

    it has i red circle with a white x in the same window..

    anyone know what that is and how to fix it?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - internet explorer toolbars
  1. goldrush
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,097
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219250

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice