internet explorer toolbars,,need help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
hi in internet explorer,the search option will not work,when i press it the window comes up but it says ,the page cannot be displayed, the same message as when you type the wrong address.
i went into customize search settings and theres 2 options, search works when i put it to ,use one search service, but does'nt work on the normal one i use which is ,use search assistant, it says the page cannot be displayed, does anyone know how i can fix this,every other toolbar option works.
ben
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
What operating system ? And what version of internet explorer..

Also run these.
First please get Spybot S&D to clear out most of the spyware.

Short tutorial and download link here:
http://tomcoyote.org/SPYBOT/

Fix everything SpybotSD labels in red.

Then after reboot:
Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log, load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
__________________
 

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
hi,,, i downloaded everything and done the scan,then u said put it in notepad.
when i press save log i can't find the notepad,when i go to ,program files,then,accessories,,it just comes up ,hyper terminal.
how do i get it to notepad?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2002
Messages
441
Try

Start>Run
When the box comes up type in Notepad

This will start the notepad function.
 

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
i got it into notepad but i can only get it saved as a ,log file, and i can't send it here as a log file,, how do i change it to a valid file extension?

MOBO thanks for showing me spybot S&D,,it fixed a heap of other problems,,before i could'nt run the disk defragmenter and a few other things but now after using spybot they all run good and faster,,thanks heaps.

but my toolbars search button will still not work,,i have'nt fixed anything in ,,hijack this,, i'm still trying to send it here:(
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
710
In Notepad DON"T save it..Use SAVE AS instead... then for name use whatever.TXT...bottom line(File Type)=*.* All Files....
 

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
i have been saving it as ,SAVE AS,, but it still just saves it as a log file,

when i go,to ,save IN, i go,to ,accessories, then ,,hyperterminal comes up,then i put hyperterminal to ,,all files,,then i saved it but it still comes up log file.
when i went to look in notepad the next day notepad won't work??

a window appears saying C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE is not a valid win32 application

what have i done??
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What operating system are you running? Do you have problems with other file associations?
 

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
i've got pentium 4,,windows me millennium edition,

i'm just having problems with notepad and wordpad,,both of them are the ones i tryed to save it to,,but all i did was try to save it,
also what is hyper terminal?

cause when i'm in SAVE IN (looking for notepad) i go to accessories then all that comes up is hyper terminal,,,that's how i saved it in notepad the first time,,i pressed save on hyper terminal and it came up in notepad but as a log file,then i found out that i can't send it here by log file,,
so i deleted that file in notepad then saved it again as ,all files, but it still comes up as a log file?

about the hyper terminal file, when i'm in the save window i bring up hyper terminal it's on log file so i go to ,save as type, and put it to all files,a list appears below hyper terminal ,but notepad is'nt there so i saved it in hyper terminal in all files,,but still comes up log file,,,,,,,
then i turned off computer 1 hour later turn it on and notepad won't work.

if anyone understands all that,,can u help me please
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You can just change the file ending of the log file to get it here. Just change .log to .txt.

Try going to Control Panel, Folder Options, File Types tab. Scroll down to txt and click the Restore button to return the default file association.
 

ben616

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
59
i tryed going to folder options,,file types tab,,i scrolled down to .txt.
but there is no restore button.

my main problem now is i get this message when trying to run notepad:

,,,C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE is not a valid Win32 application,,,

it has i red circle with a white x in the same window..

anyone know what that is and how to fix it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top