1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Explorer wiping out

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Alex1017, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex1017

    Alex1017 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Each time I hit the "e" on my toolbar next to the start button, whether I'm online or not, the screen flashes, the "illegal operation" window pops up, and it wipes out all the icons on the right side of the toolbar. What could be causing this? Following is my hijackthis.log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 4:25:47 PM, on 9/14/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S4I2D1.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\ATI\ATIDESK\ATISCHED.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSWORKS\CALENDAR\WKCALREM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGMAIN.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGBHP.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiCwd32] Aticwd32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiKey] Atitask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C84 Series] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S4I2D1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C84 Series" /O5 "LPT1:" /M "Stylus C84"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    O4 - Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ati\atidesk\atisched.exe
    O4 - Startup: Crystal 3D Audio Control.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\MSWorks\Calendar\WKCALREM.EXE
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?38203.2893634259
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
     
  2. HeddaLora

    HeddaLora

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    I wonder if the shortcut got corrupted somehow. Right-click and check properties and see if it's pointing to the right file.
     
  3. Alex1017

    Alex1017 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Thank you for your response.

    I checked the properties as you suggested. Here are the results:

    Under General Tab:

    Type: Shortcut

    Location: C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mic...\Quick Launch

    MS-DOS Name: Launch~1.LNK

    Created: August 3, 2004
    Modified: August 3, 2004

    Under SHORTCUT Tab:

    Target: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE"
    Start in: Blank
    Shortcut Key: None

    Does this look right?
     
  4. HeddaLora

    HeddaLora

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Yes, it looks right. Strange that it wouldn't work. Perhaps you can re-create a new shortcut on the desktop, and try it from the desktop. If it works, then drag it to the Taskbar and see if it works there. At least that would pinpoint it further.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273978

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice