Internet Explorer won't load pages

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thePadler

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
I was recently having problems with spyware so i downloaded cwshredder and ad aware and spybot and installed them. Now when I try to open internet explorer no page will load. I am using windows xp pro and have checked through settings - network connections to see if the connection is working. It seems to be so I cannot understand why the pages will not load.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
25
It's most likely due to a BHO or Extension,

open Regedit and remove all the keys (folder looking things) in:~
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Browser Helper Objects

DO NOT REMOVE "Browser Helper Objects" but the things inside it

like {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
and {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

as a not the two keys above are Google and Nortons (which you can leave)

do the same with
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Explorer Bars
and
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions

this should get you up and running, then i would recommend reinstalling IE
 

thePadler

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
so i followed your advice and internet explorer still won't load web pages. I don't use outlook but i opened it up just to see if it was working and it was. I think I would try to reinstall IE6 but I don't have the windows xp disc and since i cannot load web pages i can't download it either. Suggestions?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Had this happen recently after removing spyware and needed to do a system restore. First time for everything. Then I went back and carefully removed the spyware, checking IE along the way to make sure it still worked after running each program.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Can you ping an external site by name ( e.g. ping 199.181.164.1)
Can you ping an external site by IP (e.g. ping www.yahoo.com)

If both these work then there is some other problem with accessing the Internet.

Again, just ran into this after removing some spyware. As a test, I also had them try to access their e-mail from Outlook Express. That didn't work either. FTP didn't work. Then I loaded Netscape and that didn't work as well. So even though they could access the Internet (if you can ping you can access the Internet), no programs would get a connection. Eventually I just resorted to a system restore.
 

thePadler

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
well i finally got IE to load...for some reason an external device worked. I reinstalled IE but i still don't think the problem is fixed. Here is my HJT log. Please let me know if anything is improper.

Running processes:
C:\Windows\System32\smss.exe
C:\Windows\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\Windows\system32\services.exe
C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe
C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Windows\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Windows\system32\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
C:\Program Files\Compaq\EAB\EabServr.exe
C:\Program Files\AhnLab\Smart Update Utility\AhnSD.exe
C:\Windows\VM_STI.EXE
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\t?d???.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahnlab\V3\V3P3AT.exe
C:\Program Files\AhnLab\Smart Update Utility\Ahnsdsv.exe
C:\Windows\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Ahnlab\V3\MonSvcNT.exe
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Windows\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Ahnlab\V3\V3IMPro.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page_bak = http://www.google.ca/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = 127.0.0.1:8080
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = local
O2 - BHO: BHO - {06CAD548-14DD-4fa3-9EA9-05F83C18CBD7} - C:\Windows\system32\mspxs32.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIModeChange] Ati2mdxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiPTA] atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [eabconfg.cpl] C:\Program Files\Compaq\EAB\EabServr.exe /Start
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AHNSD] "C:\Program Files\AhnLab\Smart Update Utility\AhnSD.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Locals] diadushka.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Patches Value] WinGamed.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft AUT Update] MSlti32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Startup 32 Bits] sysrun32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [secure drive encryption] bestcrypt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Sygate Personal Firewall] Sygate.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BigDogPath] C:\Windows\VM_STI.EXE VIJE Talk
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Win32 Explorer] C:\Windows\system32\explorer32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Microsoft Locals] diadushka.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Patches Value] WinGamed.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Microsoft AUT Update] MSlti32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Windows Startup 32 Bits] sysrun32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [secure drive encryption] bestcrypt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Sygate Personal Firewall] Sygate.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft Locals] diadushka.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Patches Value] WinGamed.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [secure drive encryption] bestcrypt.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Microsoft AUT Update] MSlti32.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Sygate Personal Firewall] Sygate.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Windows Startup 32 Bits] sysrun32.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Lerm] C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\t?d???.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Win32 Explorer] C:\Windows\system32\explorer32.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.searchmiracle.com
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.skoobidoo.com
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.windupdates.com
O16 - DPF: {15AD4789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://public.windupdates.com/get_f...2686c5ee31c6:5505c90b877c63a0dcbb0ca5764d0b15
O16 - DPF: {80DD2229-B8E4-4C77-B72F-F22972D723EA} (AvxScanOnline Control) - http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/Msie/bitdefender.cab
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
While there maybe other issues, is there some other software related to IE install that there is a proxy setting?

ProxyServer = 127.0.0.1:8080
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top