internet frustration

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
for some unknown reason my internet stopped working and kept popping up with a window that would say


Unable to connect

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at secure.myspace.com.

* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.


i did a system restore to about a week before the problem and the internet worked again, up until my computer automaticly updated...then went out again and avast antivirus also stopped working and said that a service wasnt running........i tried the system restore again but it didnt work....
i reinstalled avast and the internet started to work again but it wont let me sign into things like myspace, youtube, yahoo....etc.....

ive tried searching for a solution but came across nothing that helped....

i also left a forum here a couple days ago but thought that when i reintalled my antivirus i had fixed it but i was wrong

anyone got any ideas?????
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
90
Ok so the fact that a system restore fixed the problem is interesting. This says to me that you have a driver problem or a software issue. I would try updating your network cards driver first. To do this to to start>run>devmgmt.msc>network adapters>find yours listed here(hopefully)>see what model and manufacturer are. Take this info and go to the manufacturers site and download the driver from them. Install it and post results.

I dont think you have any physical connection issues such as a bad router/card/ISP issues.

Also can you try using a different browser such as IE (boo, hiss)

As well go to start>run>cmd>ipconfig /all. Post the results from this so we can get a better idea of what is going on, either right click in the black command window and go select all and copy, or take screen shot. Either or.

Thanks,

Anthony
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Also:You might boot up in safe mode with networking and see if that makes a difference.If so,that would indicate to me that an app is running that might be causing your pain.
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
the system restore sorta acted as a quick fix...but then after i updated firefoxit stopped

i used IE and i could log in to myspace, yahoo...ect
i thought it might have been a currupt file in firefox so i redownloaded firefox but it didnt sovle the problem

but heres the screenshots for the ipconfig/all and device manager
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Three things to try:
From a Johnwill postConfigure DHCP for Windows Vista.
1. Click on the Start menu, and select Control Panel.
2. Click on Network and Internet. (Skip this step if you do not see this Control Panel item.)
3. Click on Network and Sharing Center.
4. Click on Manage network connections.
5. Right click on Local Area Connection and choose Properties. If Windows say it needs your permission to continue, click Continue.
6. Select Internet Protocol Version 4(TCP/IPv4) and click Properties.
7. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
8. Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
9. Click OK to close the TCP/IP Properties window.
10. Click OK to close the Local Area Connection Properties window.
11. Click Close to close the Network Connections window.
12. Click Close to close the Control Panel window.
13. Restart your computer.

2:
Stack repair for XP and Vista.
Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.


3:
Go the pc makers web site,download/install driver,if any, for the miniport entry in device manager that shows error code 10
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
ive tried the stack repair and it doesnt seem to have effected it.....
when i boot into safe mode i can log into myspace,yahoo,aol.. but my AV program (avast 5.0) has stopped working and when i try to start it, it says that it was unable to start the file system sheild

do u think maybe a worm has installed faulty drivers or something?

also ive noticed that im only connecting to the internet through my wireless connection and when i try to enable the enternet conncetion (that is highlighted in the attached pic) that it wont enable

also configuring the dhcp..is that only for vista or is it for xp too? bc the computer with the problems is running xp
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Sorry:Here is dhcp for XP:
To obtain dns and ip address automatically XP

Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.
• Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Local Area Connection Status window.
• Click the Properties button to open the Local Area Connection Properties window.
• Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
• Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
• TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
• Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
• Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
• Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
• Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.

The fact that you can run in safe mode,indicates a bad app or file.
I would run your antivrus app if possible,if not,here is a link to some on line scanners that you can access.
http://forums.techguy.org/general-security/603629-security-help-tools.html
If you can run in safe mode,let's see an ip config in that mode.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Try the pings called out in the following:Both in safe mode and normal
From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
In "my network places/view internet connections,what do you see in device manager what is the status of the Arriss device ?
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JESSIE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Loopback Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-4C-4F-4F-50
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.25.129
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::4cff:fe4f:4f50%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%3
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%3
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%3

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HP WLAN 802.11a/b/g WL500 #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-20-E0-1A-22-73
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::220:e0ff:fe1a:2273%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 10, 2010 8:46:03 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 11, 2010 12:16:39 AM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-21-5C-D0-6C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::213:21ff:fe5c:d06c%6
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 10, 2010 8:46:03 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 11, 2010 12:16:34 AM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ARRIS TOUCHSTONE DEVICE
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-A4-E8-4E-3F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.227.70
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::215:a4ff:fee8:4e3f%8
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%4
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%4
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%4

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%7
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-04
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.4%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A9-FE-E3-46
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.227.70%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%4
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%4
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A9-FE-19-81
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.25.129%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%3
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%3
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%3
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-03
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.1.4

Pinging 192.168.1.4 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.4:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping192.168.1.1
'ping192.168.1.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 74.125.45.100

Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 57ms, Average = 53ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=56
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=56
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 20ms, Maximum = 25ms, Average = 22ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 169.254.25.129

Pinging 169.254.25.129 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 169.254.25.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.25.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.25.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.25.129: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 169.254.25.129:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>



the first 5 pings were to my wireless connection since that is the one that im connecting to the internet to.....the other was to the ip addresses for area connection 2
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
i also pinged the rest of the ip adresses, subnet masks, default gateways, dns server, and dhcp server..

under local area connection the ip adress had no loss but hte subnet mask said "invalid destination"

under the wireless network connection 2 the ip, default gateway, dhcp server and the dns server had no loss but the subnet mask said "destination invalid"

under the local area connection 2 the ip adress had no loss but the subnet mask said destination invalid

i also did this in safe mode and all the results were the same

under the local area connection 3 the ip adress, default gateway, dhcp, dns had no loss, the subnet mask said "destination invalid"


all this was done in normal mode
i also did this in safe mode and all the results were the same
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
With the Broadcom ethernet adapter you have internet access and DNS is working. What is your issue?

For my curiosity could you explain those additional connections--the wireless (apparently to the same router), the loopback and the ARRIS TOUCHSTONE DEVICE?

Are you doing some experimenting with ipv6? If not I suggest you get rid of it as it sometimes causes problems in XP:

Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
i dont understand what the loopback adapter is either....but the arris touchtone device is my isp modem plugged into the usb port

i uninstalled ipv6...but the problem is still there...


do you think maybe my av program could be causing the problem...(avast 5.0)??
bc when im in safe mode avast wont run and i can log into myspace yahoo aol etc
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top