Internet is almost unusable

yukiaim

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
3
First and foremost I was not sure where this post should have been put under as the issue seemingly spans across a multitude of categories.

For as long as I've known I haven't had the best internet, my ping while playing video games would spike to 300 at times, and stay there for a few minutes before dropping back down. Over the years my internet has slowly degraded to this point, where I can hardly use my computer for online purposes whatsoever.

Around a year and a half ago my friend who is somewhat good with computers agreed to help with taking out some parts in exchange for some better ones (ex: GPU, CPU, motherboard, RAM, power supply). Since I have a pre-built, it was difficult to fit everything in nicely and I was no longer able to achieve WiFi connection afterwards.

I took my computer in to a repair shop to see what the issue was, since the other devices in my household all worked fine. To my surprise, the repairmen did not find any issue when using my computer, although they did fix the issue with me not being able to access WiFi (I had previously been using ethernet to gain internet access at home). I thanked the repairmen when they fixed the issue with not being able to receive any WiFi signal and went home, only to find that the internet connection I was receiving was unusable.

For some reason, the people who set up our internet (by the way, the ISP I have is 'Bell' [I'm Canadian]) decided that our router would be best suited in the back of our storage room, in our basement, on the ceiling... never understood that. In the past and a tad bit recently, I have made numerous calls to figure out my issue along with having individual representatives come in to manually diagnose and hopefully fix the issue, to no avail. Since the router is in my basement, I had to move my computer from my room upstairs all the way down to my living room to be able to use the internet whatsoever without an ethernet direct connection.

Strangely, when I play video games, although the connection is not often amazing, it is usable. Though, when attempting to search things online on my browser and such, it rarely works. As well, the connection is egregiously slow most of the time. I took my computer back for a 2nd time but they called us back swiftly, showing us that, when connected to the internet, it was able to play 3 videos simultaneously with no issue whatsoever.

I have no clue if the problem here has to do with my computer and/or my internet.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
22,315
Since the repair place has no problem when you take the computer there, then it is not a problem with the computer. I say the problem exists somewhere with your home network.
Does the repair shop have the same ISP? If so, what speed do they pay for and what speed do you pay for?
https://www.bell.ca/Bell_Internet/Internet_access

Have you considered using a wifi extender?
https://www.cnet.com/news/best-wifi-range-extender-for-almost-everyone-2020/

Or a powerline adapter?
https://www.techradar.com/news/the-best-powerline-adaptors

Something like this does 3 things: it extends the wifi signal, it boosts the wifi signal and it allows you to use ethernet if you don't want to use wifi.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AV600-Powerline-WiFi-Extender/dp/B00HSQAIQU
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,866
To confirm, the speed issue is with just WiFi and not Ethernet?
 

yukiaim

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
3
Since the repair place has no problem when you take the computer there, then it is not a problem with the computer. I say the problem exists somewhere with your home network.
Does the repair shop have the same ISP? If so, what speed do they pay for and what speed do you pay for?
https://www.bell.ca/Bell_Internet/Internet_access

Have you considered using a wifi extender?
https://www.cnet.com/news/best-wifi-range-extender-for-almost-everyone-2020/

Or a powerline adapter?
https://www.techradar.com/news/the-best-powerline-adaptors

Something like this does 3 things: it extends the wifi signal, it boosts the wifi signal and it allows you to use ethernet if you don't want to use wifi.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AV600-Powerline-WiFi-Extender/dp/B00HSQAIQU
The repair shop's ISP is 'Rogers', although both ISPs are fairly similar in my experience (we've had both). We paid for high speeds in the past, though we have downgraded somewhat since we were informed that we cannot reach high speeds seemingly since we are at the end of the line (even though a friend's house down the street easily gets 500MB down, we get 5 on a good day). The repair shop's internet speed was at 500MB when we were testing the speed of my computer's WiFi capabilities.

We have bought and tested 'Bell Pods' in the past which are supposed to be extenders branded by Bell, but they did not seem to help at the slightest.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,866
So Bell is a fibre connection... I would have thought fibre wouldn't be an issue with distance. Sounds like DSL..

So let's try to boil this down.... When you are on Ethernet, that is going direct to the router, or going to another switch/hub?
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top