1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet is not working in dell laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sivaram, Aug 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi In My House we have internet connetion,My friends (having same dell,XPsp2) they connect directly to the internet.when i connect it is not able to connect

    i have done work around
    1) ipconfig /renew
    2)netsh winsock reset catalog
    3)netsh int ip reset reset.log and restrated the laptop

    But no hopefull result..Please anybody can help me to sort my issue

    Note:-Some times wireless network works with weak signal

    If any body can help me to sort out ,i am so thankful.

    I Have seen same problem with another person and Jedi_Master is given some possible solution.

    please help me to sort this issue

    Thanks & regards
    Sivaram Nv
     
  2. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Is the wireless card tunred on?
     
  3. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    HI Wills

    Thanks for you prompt response,wireless card i use to off and testing for the internet,wireless card turn on and i use to check same but no result

    Could you please give me 2 or 3 types of procedures.So that i can try all types of propabilities and get back to you

    Thanks & regards
    Sivaram Nv
     
  4. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Dell laptops use the key combination of FN + F2. Also check the BIOS to make sure it is enabled.

    Has this ever worked? Is this a new installation? Is there security on the router?
     
  5. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It Has worked earliar very fine when i am in india,One Internet subsciber came and done some installatios .now iam in Netherland,I Have internet but i could not able to utilise because of this constraint.i required badly internet regarding project work
     
  6. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    and how i check the BIOS please let me know ?
     
  7. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Do you see the notification "Wireless Networks are Available" in the system tray?

    Please post the results of an ipconfig /all
     
  8. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sivaram NV>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sivaram
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-CE-D4-66
     
  9. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Now i have not connected to the internet,because now iam in office
     
  10. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Wills

    Did you gon through the above comments of mine

    Thanks & regards
    Sivaram Nv
     
  11. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    This show that either the wireless card is turned off, disabled in the BIOS, or not installed properly. Agian, it is turned on?
     
  12. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    HI Wills

    Really i am getting headache because of my internet problem,If possible if you have any few steps to resolve.Please let me know

    else what are the softwares i need to download and again i need to install ?

    Please advice

    Thanks & Regards
     
  13. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    No need to install anything until you can confirm the card is actually turned on or not.
     
  14. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I haven't seen anything here that indicates we know we're dealing with a functioning wireless network. Where are you trying to connect? Is this a friend's house with a wireless router that you know works? Where is the signal you're picking up coming from?

    And yes, we still need to verify that the wireless adapter is actually on.
     
  15. sivaram

    sivaram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Wills / helix

    I Will try today night in my house and explore more ,let me explain tommarow with all possible work arounds.

    Thanks & Regards
    Sivaram Nv
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/616338