Internet is on But horrifcly Slow

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
So basically i knew my old desktop was getting slow so i uninstalled about 15 programs that i didnt need anymore,Scanned It with Avast,AVG 2012,Superantispyware and Malwarebytes,All came back with nothing,i wanted to avoid a system restore as much as possible. is there anything else i can do? thanks :)

Sam :)

Desktop is a Acer Aspire X3400 Running Windows 7 x64
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
how many antivirus do you have - that can cause issue
I would remove ALL firewall/security suites and just choose one
Superantispyware and Malwarebytes
they can stay on the PC as its ok to have those programs and a security suite/antivirus

any other PCs connected to the internet, do they work OK ?

how are you connected wireless or cable
if wireless , lets see an xirrus screen shot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Thanks for Reply etaf! :)

only things i can see only software on here is-:
-Superantispyware
-Malwarebytes
-Avast Free
-Spyware blaster (uninstalling)

Did a speedtest on the Pc,129 ping,while this is running on 13-25 ping
The connection speed is unbeliveably diffrent,the Pc runs on about 1-3 Mb Download and 2-3 Upload while the laptop hits
35-60 Download and 3+ Upload
the Pc Is Also wireless,included a snippet :) My network is Virginmedia6804520
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
have you downloaded the driver from the edimax website and installed it ?
from the Xirrus you are using and edimax usb adapter
 

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Nope i haven't :( i went to the edimax.co.uk website, but i cant find out what driver it is :S since theres so many of them,any i cant find any info on the xirrus snippet that tells me which driver it is :(
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
post an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

if the above does not work then -

Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

Windows 8
If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

once you are in device manager then

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
----
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Thanks for reply etfaf :)

Here are the results from ipconfig in command prompt:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Sam>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Samuel-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Edimax nLite Wireless USB Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-1F-CE-DB-EB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::384c:11ba:e2f:f8b0%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 05 January 2013 01:21:05
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 January 2013 01:21:21
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184557343
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-43-40-2D-00-26-2D-41-26-81

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-2D-41-26-81
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc7c:4259:6c6:17bd%10(Deprecated)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.23.189(Tentative)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.26.56.26
156.154.70.22
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{3936BB69-16A7-4E8B-AFD5-399FDF7F6654}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{C862FD47-F79B-4750-93EC-EB1F4C1D4ADD}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:24cd:334c:a9eb:43c4(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::24cd:334c:a9eb:43c4%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Sam>
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i see the nlite adapter not a lot of info and they do make a few - although the drivers maybe the same

any codes written on the device

does it look like any of these

http://www.edimax.co.uk/en/produce_detail.php?pd_id=261&
http://www.edimax.co.uk/en/produce_detail.php?pd_id=280
http://www.edimax.co.uk/en/produce_detail.php?pd_id=255&pl1_id=1&pl2_id=44
http://www.edimax.co.uk/en/produce_detail.php?pd_id=291&pl1_id=1&pl2_id=44

theres four devices listed all
EW-7711
http://www.edimax.com/en/support_download.php

i suspect they have the same driver

but post which one you have

ALSO
------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to identify hardware in Device Manager

right click on the edimax device

from the menu choose
properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under the Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all
Then right click again and select copy
Copy and paste that information here

You should see a code similar to this

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

please reply with the full code for your device(s)

The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

Vendor ID = 8086
Device ID = 008A

Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

These codes can be looked up at this site http://www.pcidatabase.com/

As an example the link for that database tells us that;
Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Thanks again etaf :)

i Found the usb adapter in the back of the Pc tower and its a EW-7711UTn.

Also took a picture of the Two codes that came under hardware id's for the adapter. :) couldnt find Dev id's though. ;L
 

Attachments

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Did the driver download , installed it on the Pc,The network has vanished off the network list :O,the network came back on just by leaving it for a minute or so,but gone off the network list again,i doubt its not in range since the pc has been there a while and had a decent enough connection before :(
 

Sammy2111

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
146
Okay will do,i took a snippet and as you'd know,the network isnt even there, the usb adapter is plugged in.included a snippet of the pc im on aswell to show the connection is okay network is virginmedia6804520,took 1 shot of it on the pc im on now,and 2 shots on the faulty pc atm,one with the network on,and one where it isnt for a reason unknown :L
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
go back into device manager - right click on the edimax adapter and roll back the driver for the adapter - see if that helps at all

has this wireless network disappearing only happened after the driver install
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top