1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet issue on one computer...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Brassmonkeyoe, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brassmonkeyoe

    Brassmonkeyoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hey all. Having some troubles with one computer on the network right now. After it froze, i had to restart and upon restarting i had no internet coming to my desktop despite the other computers and ipad working fine. I tried resetting the modem, computer, reinstalling drivers and even flushing the dns resolver cache to no avail. I am using a hardline connection as well.. Says no internet access, despite being connected. I have a picture of my ipconfig settings but having a hard time attaching it to this post since i am on an ipad. EDIT: pic added!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have or ever had a firewall / security suite on the PC like , norton, mcafee etc - it may be blocking access

    what windows version do you have

    try safe mode with networking also a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router accosiated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Brassmonkeyoe

    Brassmonkeyoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Tried resetting everything in safemode with networking like you said.. still no luck. I am running windows 7, and with regards to anti-virus and firewalls I have been running Microsoft Security Essentials and Threatfire. This problem arose last night when my computer froze, and upon restarting the computer the internet didn't work. When I tried resetting the IP address it came up with some errors. Pics are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Can you uninstall Threatfire, make sure you have any keys, so you can re-install again if you want to
     
  5. Brassmonkeyoe

    Brassmonkeyoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Already uninstalled threatfire - still having the same issues :(
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see the services that are running - see below

    goto device manager and uninstall the network adapter by right clicking on it and then reboot the PC and allow windows to find new hardware and re-install the drivers


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below to do this goto
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the servies listed below - Please post back the following status information -
    If the service is Started/Stopped
    and
    If the service is Automatic/Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If a service is not running,
    right click on the service
    then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

    Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Also to help us identify what may be causing the issue
    Check the event log, there may be clues to what is failing. To do that
    Start >
    control panel >
    administrative tools >
    event Viewer>


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Brassmonkeyoe

    Brassmonkeyoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Com+ event system (started/manual)
    Computer browser (null/manual)
    Dhcp client (started/auto)
    network connections (started/manual)
    Network location awareness (started/manual)
    Remote procedure call (started/auto)
    Server (started/auto)
    Tcp/ip net bios helper (started/auto)
    Wlan auto config (null/manual)
    Workstation (started/auto)


    i checked the dependencies but i was not able to figure out which ones were working and which weren't. Also checked event log.. Is there a way to copy and paste the whole log file?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    they look OK - i'm not sure what else to suggest now - can you do a system restore to before the problem

    start>
    Programs>
    Accessories>
    System tools>
    system restore >
    choose a date before the freeze
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,816
    First Name:
    Terry
    The 'Media disconnected' for the ethernet in your first ipconfig means that you did not have a cable connected, the cable is defective, or the ethernet adapter is defective.
     
  10. Brassmonkeyoe

    Brassmonkeyoe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Tried system restore.. Failed to work properly. sounds like im going to have to replace the motherboard.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025383

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice