1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ChinaStu, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChinaStu

    ChinaStu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hello everyone,

    I have a problem and need help please. I have a Toshiba laptop running XP which I am currently trying to connect to the Internet via a TP-Link TL-WR841N wireless router. Trouble is I can't get it to connect to the Internet.

    There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the laptop or the router - I can connect to the router but it gives me local only access. The odd thing is that I can connect my iPad and two iphones to the Internet through this setup but not my laptop.

    I've tried bypassing the wireless router and plugging a cable straight into the laptop but this doesn't work either.

    The laptop was connected fine to another wireless network earlier today with full Internet connectivity but nothing today on this one.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a few things
    make and model of the laptop
    the network you connected fine to did it have security enabled
    ipconfig /all - xirrus

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ChinaStu

    ChinaStu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for your quick response.

    The laptop is a Toshiba Satellite L300D running Windows XP.

    The other network did have a WEP password set up but nothing more complicated than that.

    Here is the config:

    *
    Windows IP Configuration
    *
    * Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
    * Primary Dns Suffix *. . . . . . . :
    * Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    * IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    * WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    *
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    *
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbp
    s USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-82-93-68
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    * Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c81e:5c09:5155:58b7%11(Preferred)
    * IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.185(Preferred)
    * Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    * Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    * DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 218.102.60.110
    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 218.102.62.71
    * NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    *
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    *
    * Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family PCI-E Fast
    Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-6F-9F-D3
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    *
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    *
    * Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{50701037-1545-4784-9A8B-106F52CA6
    AA1}
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    *
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    *
    * Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    *
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    *
    * Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    *
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    *
    * Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    * Connection-specific DNS Suffix *. :
    * Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4E274E3B-4D90-4290-A013-359744198
    ED2}
    * Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    * DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    * Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    *

    It is going to take me a few days to get Xirrus onto the laptop. The only Internet access I currently have is using my iPad (which I can't download to) so I'll have find some other way of getting online.
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Are you manually assigning this IP address because it shows that DHCP is disabled on your wireless NIC. Look at the IP address you are getting on your iPad and see if it is similar to the computers IP address.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    as mentioned you probably need to setup for auto ip - although the ethernet adapter is set to auto - so would have thought a cable connection would have worked

    do a tcp/ip reset - see below
    and this is how to set auto ip and dns on xp

    Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS

    FOR XP
    To setup PC on XP to use DHCP
    follow these instructions - if wireless - choose the wireless connection
    http://www.srikanthkoka.com/lan.html
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977484

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice