1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet just quits

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Kintaro56, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kintaro56

    Kintaro56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    I posted before about registry problems, and I downloaded a program that took care of that (Deep Reg or something? That computer is powered off).

    Anyway, the pop-ups are gone, but now when I'm on the Internet, the connection just dies after about five minutes. It's a cable connection, not dial-up, so I don't know how this is happening. When I restart the computer, I can get another five minutes or so, but then it just dies out again. The computer is fine, but not the connection.

    I also downloaded Zone Alarm, but I don't think that is the problem.

    I hope this isn't too vague, but that's the best I can do.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ or from http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloadg...a8baee6434cfc13
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the " scan " button will change into a " save log " button.
    Press that, save the log , load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.
     
  3. Kintaro56

    Kintaro56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    I actually did download "Hi Jack This", and it found all kinds of nasty things. I did however, delete all the backups it created. :eek:

    What could cause the Internet to just stop working? It's a cable connection, and it works just fine on this laptop that I am using right now. On the desktop, the internet will run fine and then just cease to repsond.

    I know very little about computers, so this will appear quite dumb, but I don't see any of the icons on the bottom of the desktop screen, next to the time. I don't know if that has anything to do with it.
     
  4. harold.pohl

    harold.pohl

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    One thing to take a quck look at when you keep getting bumped from the Internet is your computer's System Resources percentage. Do a right click on My Computer and choose Properties, then the Performance tab. On that tab look at System Resources. If it's below 80%, you may need to free up some things by unloading your System Tray (the things that start automatically and run in the background each time you start your computer). With all the Virus detection, Firewall stuff and other protective things you may have been downloading, your System Tray may be too full and sapping your System Resources. (Are there a lot of icons at the right hand end of your Task Bar?) There's a whole lot of help out on the Web for finding out which stuff you can do without in your System Tray. When you have researched that, do a Start > Run "msconfig" and choose the Startup tab. Go down the list and uncheck the ones you don't need. Do this carefully and knowledgeably, because there are some things you do need. After restarting your computer, see if the System Resources percentage is higher. Then try the Internet again.

    Harold
     
  5. Kintaro56

    Kintaro56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks for the help!

    I actually have 90% free on my System Resources, but the Start Up tab under "msconfig" was a little odd...I only have three things checked:

    "tgbcde" (C:\\WINDOWS\tgbcde\module32.exe arg 1)

    "RFX_auto_upgrade"

    and

    "EnsoniqMixer" (starter.exe)

    Shouldn't I have a lot more than those?

    Like I mentioned earlier, I lost all of the icons next to the clock at the lower right hand corner of the screen.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. Kintaro56

    Kintaro56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Geez...now I can't even get the Internet to run at all! Is there a way I can restore all of the "Startup" options?
     
  7. Krelian

    Krelian

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    300
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217651

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice