1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Latency is Extreme. Can't find the cause

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JinseiNGC224, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    For weeks we've been having severe latency issues. According to one command prompt I put it our ping in regards to our computer and a particuliar online game's server should be around 50-60 ms (milliseconds), but instead is at minimum 400, but up to nearly 800. Whether we play a game or not though does not matter.

    Here is everything we've tried:

    1.) We've traded our modem in for a new one at a local Comcast center (should've been updated anyway).

    2.) We purchased a new router (better than the previous, and not a bad upgrade in any case)

    3.) We've tried wired, and wireless connections

    4.) We've turned off file sharing, and we don't have any wireless networks enabled for anyone to tap into.

    5.) The latency happens on our new HP Phoenix desktops, as well as netflix through our PS3.

    6.) We've taken the router out of the picture and hardwired individual devices to the modem. The latency is still there.

    7.) We've called Comcast and had them refresh our connection on their end.

    8.) We've tried countless times to reset the modems and router.

    9.) We were told by one person to disable file sharing. We don't have that enabled.

    10.) A Comcast phone tech told me it could be cookies or internet history, but that's hogwash since it's not limited to our computers but all internet ready devices, and these computers hardly have any history being less than a month old.

    All of the above wasn't necessarily done in that order, but since none of it has worked, we've scheduled a Comcast tech to come out tomorrow afternoon to look at our outside wires. Our black coaxial cable inside we use for internet is over 10 years old, so perhaps that's old enough to be giving issues...? Even though we still get a connection of some sort, we aren't able to stream videos for long periods of time, unless we hardwire it through the modem, but that still has issues and playing online games is difficult.

    Again, this happens on our new desktops, but also through any device ran through our TV, wireless or wired, bypassing the router or not.

    I've tried various sites for speed tests. 2Wire.com says I have around an average of 2 mbps after multiple speed tests. speedtest.net says around 23 mbps on average, and speakeasy.com says I have around 10 mbps to 24 mbps, all of these done multiple times and all these representing download speeds. I'm not sure which one of these sites is accurate, but it does fluctuate from low to high almost every other second, that much is certain.

    If anyone can think of anything I can check that would be a great help. It would also let me direct the comcast technician in the right direction when he comes, if I need to.

    Our new computers run off of Windows 8, despite the issue being not limited to our desktops, in case I need to troubleshoot through the computers for any reason.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    Did comcast say if there are any signal issues? What modem do you have?
     
  3. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Comcast didn't report signal issues on their end or that they could detect.

    My modem is a Cisco DPC3000, which I just got the other week, and it's a replacement to another modem of the same make/model in case that was causing the issue. I've been using this make/model for over a year with no latency issues until the other week when this began.

    My router, even though I've bypassed it through the modem directly and tried different routers, is currently a Medialink-N Broadband Router.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    Did you have packet loss when pinging?
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    Also in command prompt do a trace route to google and the game sever. Command is tracert google.com and post back results.

    Also go to http://192.168.100.1 and notate the downstream/upstream information
     
  6. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Tracing route to google.com [74.125.226.226]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 538 ms 543 ms 563 ms 73.218.112.1
    3 339 ms 415 ms 461 ms te-7-4-ur01.concord.nh.boston.comcast.net [68.85
    .185.1]
    4 421 ms 501 ms 542 ms po-21-ur01.deering.nh.boston.comcast.net [68.87.
    145.69]
    5 518 ms 647 ms 651 ms be-80-ar01.needham.ma.boston.comcast.net [68.85.
    37.41]
    6 667 ms 658 ms 634 ms he-2-9-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68
    .86.90.57]
    7 603 ms 614 ms 595 ms pos-1-6-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.n
    et [68.86.87.110]
    8 582 ms 622 ms 643 ms 66.208.228.206
    9 413 ms 401 ms 366 ms 209.85.248.180
    10 526 ms 576 ms 594 ms 72.14.239.252
    11 560 ms 477 ms * lga15s29-in-f2.1e100.net [74.125.226.226]
    12 403 ms 358 ms 385 ms lga15s29-in-f2.1e100.net [74.125.226.226]

    Trace complete.



    Pinging google.com [74.125.226.226] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.226.226: bytes=32 time=410ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.226.226: bytes=32 time=337ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.226.226: bytes=32 time=351ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 74.125.226.226:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 337ms, Maximum = 410ms, Average = 366ms


    And the game server:


    Tracing route to a308.g.akamai.net [184.25.108.67]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 451 ms 478 ms 489 ms 73.218.112.1
    3 745 ms 740 ms 704 ms te-7-4-ur01.concord.nh.boston.comcast.net [68.85
    .185.1]
    4 639 ms 671 ms 591 ms po-20-ur02.concord.nh.boston.comcast.net [68.87.
    145.74]
    5 582 ms 450 ms 596 ms be-77-ar01.woburn.ma.boston.comcast.net [68.85.3
    7.201]
    6 606 ms 488 ms 554 ms a184-25-108-67.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [18
    4.25.108.67]

    Trace complete.



    Pinging a308.g.akamai.net [23.3.13.83] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 23.3.13.83: bytes=32 time=179ms TTL=55
    Reply from 23.3.13.83: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=55
    Reply from 23.3.13.83: bytes=32 time=352ms TTL=55
    Reply from 23.3.13.83: bytes=32 time=329ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 23.3.13.83:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 179ms, Maximum = 352ms, Average = 287ms





    Furthermore,

    Downstream Channels for modem:

    Power Level Signal to Noise Ratio Channel 0:-10.5 dBmV 34.9 dBmV Channel 1:-10.8 dBmV 34.9 dBmV Channel 2:-10.1 dBmV 35.1 dBmV Channel 3:-10.9 dBmV 34.8 dBmV



    Upstream Channels:



    Power Level Channel 0:45.0 dBmV Channel 1:0.0 dBmV Channel 2:0.0 dBmV Channel 3:46.5 dBmV
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    -10 is fine but not great. Here is your problem:

    2 451 ms 478 ms 489 ms 73.218.112.1

    I assume that is your public IP address as the first one is your router (Gateway on the LAN side). To doublecheck go to http://www.ipaddress.com... if it's similar but not the same, then that is the ISPs gateway that is being bottlenecked.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    I did a check > that number 2 is most likely the gateway at Comcast. Before the tech comes back, call them back and tell them that the gateway seems to be the bottleneck and they will need to check that first.
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    Did the field technician fix your issue?
     
  10. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    After the Comcast tech came by, and after over an hour of him arguing with us with him trying to blame our computer hardware or PS3 sucking bandwidth, we insisted on our wires and outdoor setup being looked at and replaced. Seeing the coaxials and outside bit was over 10 years old and there was indeed interference when he ran a diagnostic, he replaced the whole thing. On top of that, supposedly the last cable guy who was here a long time ago did the cable wires wrong for internet and tv and sliced them the wrong way, that and the fact amplifier's were being used that I had forgotten about.

    He ended up changing all the coaxials in the house and updated the system completely, outside and in. But not until this morning, just a few hours ago, did the internet begin to become completely stable. That's when he redid the outside system.

    Whether redoing all the indoor wires worked a little bit or not we're not sure, but no high latency has been seen in nearly six hours straight, not even for a second, since the outside was redid. Our setup just must've been deteriorating over a long period of time. It's now faster than ever!

    Even though Comcast scored a point on this issue, thanks for trying to help me out. I appreciate it. I'll be sure to visit this site again if I have any new problems.
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    (y) no problem. Double check the tracert now and then to make sure your times are not as high as it was.
     
  12. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    After everything that has happened the last number of weeks, and after nearly two weeks of no latency, our latency has returned sporadically again....

    The thing is, we've grown distant from our computers to the point we don't even use them as much as we used to thanks to months of extreme latency, so this latency is not from extreme use.

    As stated above, the Comcast tech replaced everything, from every single coax cable in the home to our setup outside of the house. And as stated we've gone through multiple routers, modems, and resets from every area imaginable.

    Is there any way this could be associated with our new HP desktops? We're currently on Windows 8 but we've had a tough time trying to figure out what's going on...though in saying that, we have latency streaming movies off of our TV and it's devices even with our new HP windows 8 desktops completely turned off.

    As for the wireless, we can't find anyone attached to our network sucking bandwidth, and we just updated the security settings on it. That and we've tried keeping the wireless completely disabled...but in any case we never ever had this problem with nearly a decade straight of high speed comcast use with wireless enabled.

    We're losing our minds, to say the least, and we're not sure what to do. As I type this my fiance is on the phone with Comcast, but I'm not sure if they can help any more (thus far).
     
  13. JinseiNGC224

    JinseiNGC224 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    6
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    The Comcast CSR should get this pushed to the Engineering then because the trace route shows heavy ping times at hop 2. Please refer to post #7 to confirm your IP address. Also you may want to do the trace route 1 more time to see if that #2 hop has changed.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085595

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice