Internet limited connectivity

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Songbird1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3
My laptop won't connect to Internet, it connects to network has full signal but nothing. It has worked fine it just started the other day not letting me get on the Internet here at home and I aso tried over at my parents did the same thing with there wireless my husband tried not going throughout wireless nothing either, tried the suggested helps vista gave all that you can do without net. Help please
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
do you have another PC that is working OK

we would like to see some information - ipconfig /all - see how below

make and model of the PC

try a tcp/ip reset - see how below

my husband tried not going throughout wireless nothing either
does this mean you tried connecting the machine to the router with a cable?

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check the wireless is switched ON
theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off - is the wireless on?

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Songbird1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3
Windows IP configuration
Host Name......Paul-PC
Primary Dns Suffix
Node Type.......Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled.......No
WINS Proxy Enabled......No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix
Description........:Dell Wireless 1395WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address.............. 00-16-44-7D-8E-71
DHCP Enabled.............Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address ................fe80::e9ed::99cb::ddc9:925f%10(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address...:169.254.146.95(Preferred)
Subnet Mask..................255.255.0.0
Default Gateway..................:
DHCPv6 IAID.................167777860
DHCPv6 Client DUID...............00-01-00-01-0F-47-EC-BF-00-0D-09-A8-7F-0D
DNS Servers.................... fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

NetBIOS over Tcpip.......................... Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State........................:Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix .:
Description........................: Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address....................: 00-1D-09-A8-7F-0D
DHCP Enabled.......................: Yes
Autoconfiguration......................: Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State..............:Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix .:
Description....................: Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address..............:02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled............: No
Autoconfiguration.........: Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connectiom* 9:

Media State..............:Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix .:
Description.............: isatap.{DC1595FF-2DFF-40BD-AFEA-A17FBBCC0766}
Physical Address .......................00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP enabled................No
Autoconfiguration ...........Yes

Tunnel Adapter local connection*7:

Media state.........disconnected
Connection-specific DNS suffix
Description..............isatap.{CBB41949-92AD-4F14-AC35-A070ABD0050A}
Physical address ........... : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-0E
DHCP Enabled..............no
Autoconfiguration .............Yes
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
did you do the tcp/ip reset ?

can you connect by cable and post an ipconfig /all

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top