1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet link corrupted

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by james0802, Feb 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. james0802

    james0802 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    I can no longer access web sites directly from icons on my desktop nor if i type in the url in the address toolbar. If I click on an icon, i get the error message, "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an assoicaiton in the folder options control panel."
    If I type the url, I get no error message, but just the blinking cursor at the beginning of the url. If I access the internet anyother way, e.g., through links, no problem. Any suggestions?
     
  2. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hi :)

    If I knew what your Windows OS and browser+version was, I could probably post the exact fix details.

    In the meantime, assuming you're using Internet Explorer v5 or later, try:

    Add/Remove Programs Control Panel -> Microsoft Internet Explorer -> Add/Remove
    Select the "Repair IE" option

    This will fix .url & .html associations, amongst other things.
     
  3. james0802

    james0802 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Windows XP home

    IE 6.0.2800

    Thanks.
     
  4. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Aah, okay, there is no "Repair IE" option under WinXP / IE6

    Now, the all-knowing Del posted instructions here of how to run the IE reinstall/repair utility from the command line (Start -> Run)
    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=116603
    (towards the end of the thread)

    The command line being:
    rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 %windir%\Inf\ie.inf


    However, if you don't want to go that route, try this:

    Control Panel -> Folder Options -> File Types tab

    Hit "U" key, then scroll down a bit further & hi-lite:
    URL - Internet Shortcut
    Click "Advanced"

    Note, there's a chance that this button might read as "Restore"
    in which case, click it, and everything should be fixed back to how it was before.

    If not, then in Advanced:
    Under "Actions", Hi-lite "Open"

    App Used command line:
    rundll32.exe shdocvw.dll,OpenURL %l

    Use DDE = checkmarked

    application:
    shdocvw

    Topic:
    System

    (use copy+paste from here if necessary, by dragging/hi-lighting relevant text with mouse, Ctrl+C to copy the command line . . . use Tab key to switch back to Folder Options window if you can't see it . . . Ctrl+V to paste it into Folder Options)

    Click "Okay"
    Back in original "Advanced" box, hi-lite "Open", click "Set Default"
    (Set Default will be grayed out if "Open" is already the default action)

    If URL filetype doesn't exist, then you can either create it new, using the above parameters, or I can post you a *.reg file to import it into your registry.


    It might also be a good idea to check this entry too
    (This will be right near the very top of the list)

    (NONE) URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol
    Advanced -> Open -> Edit

    App used Command Line
    "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome

    Use DDE = checkmarked

    DDE Message:
    "%1",,-1,0,,,,

    (again, use copy & paste method if necessary)

    Application:
    IExplore

    Topic:
    WWW_OpenURL



    Also, look at this entry:

    (NONE) Internet Shortcut

    App Used Command Line:
    rundll32.exe shdocvw.dll,OpenURL %l

    Use DDE = checkmarked

    Application:
    shdocvw

    Topic
    System



    Okay everything.

    See if it works now.



    btw, do you have any .htm or .html files anywhere on your hard drive?
    If so, do these have the correct IE icon and do they open in IE when double clicked?
    If not, then we'll need to do the same for HTM and HTML, however, I think it's just URL which has got messed up.
     
  5. james0802

    james0802 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    OK, went through the steps, and went fine up to the (NONE) URL entry. When I tried to edit the open function, nothing happened. I also tried to create a new open function, but got an error message saying the command line file (...iexplore.exe) could not be found.

    BTW, also tried the repair from Del, but got stuck there when I was asked to supply the file iexplore.exe from Windows XP SR1 CD. Of course, I have no such CD. Do they mean my original Windows XP CD?
     
  6. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Yes, your Win XP c.d.
     
  7. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Ok . . . .

    Note: I've added another entry to my original post.

    Also, look at (and edit the "Open" Action, if necessary):

    (NONE) Internet Shortcut


    As for not being able to find iexplore.exe
    well, that must be crap, lol, otherwise you wouldn't be here now.
    iexplore.exe is Internet Explorer


    It's possible that Dell installs Internet Explorer to a different location.


    Go to: Start -> Search
    Search for files & folders named:
    iexplore.exe

    When you find it, note down the path

    Then, back in:
    Folder Options -> File Types:
    (NONE) URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol -> Advanced
    Open -> Edit
    This time click the "browse" button, and browse to iexplore.exe

    The path will then automatically be entered, and the quotation marks are necessary (exactly as it is in my example above, but with the correct path to iexplore.exe instead)
    You can then manually type in the -nohome switch
    Note: there should be a single space inbetween the last " and -nohome
     
  8. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hey, and if all else fails . . .
    You can always reinstall Internet Explorer 6 sp1 directly from the web.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/default.asp

    I hope you've got a fast connection . . .


    Although, definitely try my above suggestions first.

    Good luck :)
     
  9. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Hi Egg,
    It's the all-knowing Del, whatever that is supposed to mean.
    Another thing in Win XP you can try, and you may need the Win XP c.d. for it is to :
    Click Start > Run > type 'sfc /scannow' with out the quotes and click OK.
    It should compare all your files and fix any corrupted or missing.
     
  10. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    It was intended as a sincere compliment :)

    Aha! Yes, of course . . . System File Checker should fix it . . . if iexplore.exe is truly missing . . . but surely iexplore.exe must already be somewhere on the hard drive, otherwise james0802 wouldn't be using Intenet Explorer as he is at the moment.

    I suppose the easiest way of finding the path is to rt click the IE shortcut in
    Start menu -> All Programs, and select "properties"

    Though it's definitely worth running sfc just in case anything else is missing or damaged.
     
  11. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    http://winxp.bink.nu/

    and

    http://www.bink.nu/

    They have a lot of info on downloads, tricks, updates etc.

    Specifically, the full version of IE6SP1 so you don't have to keep downloading it, when you want to reinstall it.

    SP4 beta for win2k coming up also!
     
  12. james0802

    james0802 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Problem solved.

    The culprit was the (NONE) URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol
    file type. I found my iexplore.exe (it was in C:\windows\ServicePack File\i386) and recreated the open command. Everything's back to normal.

    Thanks a ton for your help!!
     
  13. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Hey James, glad you got your links back.
    Good catch Egg.
    You'll have a great day.
    ;)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116702

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice