1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet nightmare

Discussion in 'Networking' started by soulchyld, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. soulchyld

soulchyld Thread Starter

Hi, I have a small LAN of about 20 pc's, they are all connected to a BT Business hub, (one of those 2700v things), I have a switch connected to some of the computers and a cisco router connecting the rest, its actually the switch and cisco router that are then connected to the BT Router, problem is I have this intermittent connection to the internet, it seems to be worse when there is lots of traffic on the network, but the thing is I never have any problems with the LAN, even when the internet is down I can still access the LAN, Im fairly new to networking experience wise but theoretically Im fine. can anyone out there suggest some things for me to try?

2. oldrookie

oldrookie

Is there any new configuration or has this confguration been in place for a while and been working until recently??

When the internet goes down does it go down for all computers/users or only some??

Also you mention 2 routers - a Cisco and a BT Business Hub. What is that all about?? I can't see whay such a small network would need multiple routers unless one is acting only as modem?? Multiple routers can also lead to problems if they both are acting as DHCP servers. You can use ipconfig /all on a network computer to find out which is acting as DHCP server.

Normally a small network has a single internet router/firewall and then that device connectes to a network switch that also connects other computers on the network. Of course you can have multiple switches also to expand capacity.