1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet not working on one computer, but works on others.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by markinator007, Aug 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. markinator007

    markinator007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hi. a few hours ago I had a power surge in my house. When they power went out, the internet was out for about 2 minutes before it came back on. However the internet only came back on one computer, and not the other. Both computers have wired connection. I tried swapping out the ethernet cable on the computer with faulty connection, however that didn't help. I tried restoring my computer to factory settings, and that didn't work either.

    I would greatly appreciate anyone's help, also keep in mind that i'm not very tech savvy, so I would appreciate it if you could word your posts in such a way that I could understand.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,348
    First Name:
    Terry
    From the symptoms you describe the problem is likely the router's LAN port, the ethernet cable or the computer's ethernet adapter. You've already made one test of the cable; now test the problem computer using the same LAN port and cable that are working on the other computer.
     
  3. markinator007

    markinator007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    So I tested all 3 of your suggestions, and none of those seem to be the problem.

    Ethernet cable: Tried using other ethernet cables, none of those worked either

    LAN port: Tried using a different port and cable, that didn't work either.

    Ethernet adapter: I had no idea what this is, or how to test it. So I googled it and someone said to type "ping.127.0.0.1" and if I got results back that's not the problem.
    These were the results I got from said test.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mark>ping.127.0.0.1
    'ping.127.0.0.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Mark>ping 127.0.0.1

    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Mark>

    Unless I did something wrong, I'm fairly certain that none of these are the issues. If these aren't the problems, then what else could be my problem?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,348
    First Name:
    Terry
    In spite of what a lot of people think that they know a ping of 127.0.0.1 tests the stack, not an individual NIC. If you want to test a NIC that way you need to ping its IP address.

    Probably the NIC is fried. Get a USB ethernet adapter. Or, if this is a desktop with a spare PCI slot, you could instead get a PCI ethernet adapter.
     
  5. markinator007

    markinator007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, so I pinged my IP adress and got the results below.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mark>ip_config
    'ip_config' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Mark>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::996c:2941:23e5:e731%11
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.231.49
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{ACD61571-C61B-47F9-A8A4-CF70641F880B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Mark>ping 169.254.231.49

    Pinging 169.254.231.49 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 169.254.231.49: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.231.49: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.231.49: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.231.49: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 169.254.231.49:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Mark>

    Does this mean that my NIC is good or bad?

    And if it is bad, is that replacable, or is it attached to the motherboard?

    Also, how do I know if I have an extra PCI slot?

    And lastly, if that test for the NIC proves that the NIC is functional, what else could the problem be?

    I apologize if my questions sound rather dumb, I am quite the newb :/
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,348
    First Name:
    Terry
    No; inconclusive.

    Probably integrated with the motherboard, but that's just a guess since I don't know the brand and model.

    Quick way would be to look for an unused opening in the case, but better to actually look inside to see if there is an unused PCI slot.

    Not dumb. Just sound like the questions to which I didn't know the answers about a dozen years ago. :)

    There's a small possibility that the NIC is defective in a way in which it can still be used. In Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab. For the 'Speed & Duplex' Property try several values beginning with '100 Mbps full duplex' and '10 Mbps full duplex.'
     
  7. markinator007

    markinator007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    So I just replaced the NIC with a brand new one in my computer, and i still have no internet.

    Anyone have any idea what else it could possibly be?
     
  8. markinator007

    markinator007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Soo.. This is odd.
    For some reason I'm able to connect the Internet using a wireless adapter, however wired still doesn't work. This is after replacing the NIC so that can't possibly be the problem.

    Would really appreciate any other suggestions.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105816

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice