1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet not working on pc, but working on wireless laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by arsh93, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    I have a motorola modem (SB5102) and a D-Link Router (WBR-1310). I have a pc which is connected to the modem and the router with wires. From this afternoon there is no internet connection on my pc. The icon on the bottom right says unindentified network, Access: Local Only. But my laptop, which is connected wirelessly, is working fine. it has good internet connection and everything. All my other wireless devices are also working fine. But only my pc (which is connected with cables to the modem and router), is not getting any internet. Can anyone please help me with this weird problem. Thanks!

    Both the pc and laptop have Windows Vista.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Can another computer get a good connection using the same router LAN port and ethernet cable?

    Please show for the problem PC ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Thx for replying.
    So, when i connected my laptop to the modem and router it worked fine...

    here are the results that you asked for:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Home>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS191 Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-25-30-4B-DB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f0a8:dcb4:c5bc:ad5f%8(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.173.95(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 134218092
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{78665C2D-46DF-4788-BFC2-B06EFD46D
    2C3}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Home>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    I am going to assume that was with the same cable and router LAN port, as that isolates the problem to the problem PC.

    What non-Windows security applications (firewall, anti-virus, etc.) do you have on that machine?

    Let's start with these fixes ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    When i enter the commands, it says that the operation requires elevation
     
  6. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    nvm i entered those commands and they are succesful but my problem still isn't solved. still no internet
     
  7. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    and i use avast antivirus...
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Use Device Manager to uninstall the ethernet driver; reboot the PC and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.

    If Avast's data definitions are more than a couple days out of date uninstall it and use a Removal or cleanup tool if one is provided by Avast.
     
  9. exitrealtor

    exitrealtor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I am having the same problem just now with windows 7. Laptop with is mac is working fine. Desk top is dell w/intel isn't help. I have restored settings to yesterday when it was working. not off line.
     
  10. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    I unistalled avast fully and uninstalled/reinstalled the driver. still no solution.

    And as exitrealtor said, can i just restore windows to the last restore point? If you think this will fix the problem can u guys tell me, step by step, how to restore windows. Thanks!

    Exitrealtor did restoring windows fix your problem?
     
  11. exitrealtor

    exitrealtor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    no it didn't. The restore did not work at all. I used the above thread and tried the same commands, winsock reset etc. and two seemed to go in, and when I rebooted the internet & it worked for 2 minutes....maybe enough to open windows and get to the first page of a web page and then stopped
    Getting more and more frustrated
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    I doubt that a System Restore will help, but I've been surprised before! Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools - System Restore - select a point before the issue began. Note that you can then undo the Restore if desired.

    I think that your ethernet adapter is now defective. If I'm right there are two things that may get a little more useful life out of it. First, in Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced. The "Speed & Duplex" property is probably set to "Auto." Try some different settings, beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.

    The 2nd thing to try is a static IP configuration. If you need help with that please show an ipconfig /all for the working laptop.

    exitrealtor, welcome to the forum and we certainly appreciate the help here and I assume you are probably going to try the above steps also. For more individual help please start your own thread; you can refer to this one is you like.
     
  13. exitrealtor

    exitrealtor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for all the help. This morning when I turned on the computer everything was working. Don't have a clue why.
    Appreciate everyones time and help
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Sometimes, like us, computers just need a good night's sleep. :)
     
  15. arsh93

    arsh93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Nope, still the problem exists. Can u plz tell me anything else that i can do. Thanks a lot!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919881