1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet on my desktop computer says "cannot find server/page" regardless of browser

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by lilz4life, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    I need help it works on my lap top via a router and i called my ISP and they went through several steps repairing the network and came to a statement saying my computer had a problem and not the connection, they said to ask a technician so here i am :( i need help as it works on my laptop but not my desktop computer
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Brand and model of router? Operating System(s) and service pack levels (if applicable) on both computers? How does each computer connect to the router? For each computer, if Windows, please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    ok my desktop sp1 intel inside celron
    laptop dell
    router dlink wbr1310

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\aqc>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dell
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet
    Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-DB-09-A2-C3

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-A8-D2-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 30, 2007 4:27:01 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 06, 2007 4:27:01 P
    M

    C:\Documents and Settings\aqc>
     
  4. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    ok i rebooted all my computer still nothing what next?
     
  5. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    ok i have no media to send the data? from my desktop as this computer has no floppy nor cd drive and i have no flash drive?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    If you can get data from the laptop to the desktop you can try this automated WINSOCK fix: http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html

    And if it still doesn't work take a picture or two of the ipconfig /all if you have a digital camera. Or, start typing. :)
     
  7. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Host name………..: xyz
    Primary Dns suffix………….:
    Node Type…………..: Unknown
    Ip routing enabled………………..:No
    Wins Proxy enabled ……………….:no
    Dns Suffix search list……………:

    Ethernet adapter local area connection 3:

    Connection-specific Dns Suffix .: Phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description…………………….: 3com 3c900b-TPO Ethernet adaptor (generic)
    Physical address……………………00-50-DA-20-69-3D
    Dhcp Enabled……………………………yes
    Auto configuration enabled……….yes
    Ip address…………………………..: 192.168.0.101
    Subnetmask…………………………….255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway………………..:192.168.0.1
    DHCP Servers………………………:192.168.0.1
    DNS servers……………………….:192.168.0.1
    Net Bios over Tcpip……………: Disabled
    Lease obtained………………:October 30 2007 5:31:44 PM
    Lease expires …………………..: November 6, 2007 5:3144PM


    FINALLY DONE

    AND WINSOCK I COULDINT TRANSFER THE FILE TO MY DESKTOP
     
  8. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Please Help My Sister Needs The Other Computer For Homework
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Strange--they both have the same IP address even though they both have dynamic configurations. The following usually fixes such problems.

    Shut down all computers. Unplug router for a minute. Plug in router. Boot computers. Look at the ipconfig on each and see if they now have different addresses. They should, and hopefully your desktop will be back online.
     
  10. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    still same not online
     
  11. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    1 min let me try again
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Still same IP address on both computers? Really strange!

    Login to the router and look at the Dhcp client list. One or both computers there? Or more? What address(es) does it say?

    Next step to try and make the router wake up and behave is to reset it to factory default settings, then do whatever reconfiguring is needed.
     
  13. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    how do i check dhcp list iom on router page but where do i gpo
     
  14. lilz4life

    lilz4life Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    but i think it has nothing to do with the routher as i had a straight connection off the modem and pc and was till not working
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Check your router's User Manual for how to find the Dhcp client list. If you don't still have it download it from D-Link's web site, Support section.

    Whether or not your PC was working connected to the modem, I still don't understand why both PCs are getting the same IP address from the router.

    On the non-working PC open a Command Window and try

    ping 192.168.0.1
    ping 216.109.112.135
    ping yahoo.com

    For each did you get Replies or all packets lost (or name not found)?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/645597