1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Only Works in Safe Mode

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NavinRH, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NavinRH

    NavinRH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    My internet only works in safe mode. I tried running the internet in rgular mode but nothign, as soon as i get in safe mode and i goto the admin password with networking. It works.
     
  2. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Exactly what happens in regular mode? I need that following also:

    1. How you connect to internet
    2. Operating System (and Service Pack)
     
  3. NavinRH

    NavinRH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Cable Modem. Windows XP sp2 Right now its connected directly to the modem.
     
  4. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    ok. But what happens in regular mode?

    Does internet explorer not open?
    etc
    etc
     
  5. NavinRH

    NavinRH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    in regular mode. Internet explorer opens. the computer operates fine. just i dont get any internet service. packets are sent and received, i have a working ip address and everything checks out. i disable all firewalls and everything. but when i go into safe mode, all internet capabilities work fine.
     
  6. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Have you tried another browser? Tries to use IM to see if you get connection?
     
  7. NavinRH

    NavinRH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    yeah i tried using aim. and aol explorer. theres no connection at all.
     
  8. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Corrupt User Profile? Do this: DO ALL THIS IN NORMAL MODE.

    1. Click Start > Control Panel
    2. Select Switch to Classic view if not already selected.
    3. Double Click User Accounts
    4. Select Create a New Account
    5. Create a name for the account and click Next6. Select if you want Limited or Administrator.
    7. Click Create Account.
    8. Insert a USB Key or CD ROM.
    9. Copy and paste all your documents (music, pictures etc) to the CD ROM or USB Key.
    10. Logon to the new account.
    11. Test for internet connection.
    12. If connection, transfer your files from CD ROM or USB to the new account.

    To delete the old account:

    1. Click Start > Control Panel
    2. You should still be in classic view, so double click User Accounts.
    3. Click your old account and select Delete The Account.
    4. If you get a message telling you to logoff that account then do so.
    5. Reboot your computer.
    6. After the reboot do this:

    1. Click Start > Run
    2. Type Sysdm.cpl and click OK.
    3. Click the Advanced tab.
    4. Under User Profiles select settings.
    5. Highlight Account Unknown and click delete down the bottom.
    6. If your computer locks up at this point, dont worry. Its normal.
    7. When you have deleted all the Account Unknowns in that dialog, reboot.
    8. Logon and test for internet connection.
     
  9. NavinRH

    NavinRH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    it does not work when i create a new user account either. its the same problem.
     
  10. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Thats one thing ruled out.
    Boot normal mode and...
    ...try this:

    1. Click Start --> Run
    2. Type cmd.exe --> click OK
    3. Type ipconfig /release
    4. Type ipconfig /renew hitting enter after each line

    Can you now connect?
     
  11. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,235
    You have not mentioned if ping works to internet sites in both cases?

    If the PC works with networking in safe mode, a brand new user profile does not fix it, ALL TCP/IP information is the same on both safe mode and regular mode setup I would look at one glaring thing.

    Third party firewall software... Look for it all and uninstall (don't just disable it).

    Another thought is to go into your MSCONFIG and remove as much as you can from startup until you can connect to the internet and slowly add things to the list to find out what the culprit is thats stopping the web browser - my bets the firewall.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482744

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice