internet only works in safe mode

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ginny36

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
5
I have uninstalled my norton,turned off my firewall....still only able to access internet in safe mode!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
can we see the following in safe mode and then again in normal mode

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

ginny36

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
5
ok...so i did that,but when the black box appears it disappears right away...
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
you need to use the CMD command to keep the box open
 

ginny36

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
5
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\all>
 

ginny36

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
5
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\all>ping google
Ping request could not find host google. Please check the name and try again.
C:\Users\all>ping google.com
Pinging google.com [74.125.95.105] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=50
Reply from 74.125.95.105: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=50
Ping statistics for 74.125.95.105:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 32ms, Maximum = 33ms, Average = 32ms
C:\Users\all>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
lets try this
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

ginny36

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
5
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\all>ping <computer_ip_address>
The syntax of the command is incorrect.
C:\Users\all>ping computer_ip_address
Ping request could not find host computer_ip_address. Please check the name and
try again.
C:\Users\all>ping default_gateway_address
Ping request could not find host default_gateway_address. Please check the name
and try again.
C:\Users\all>ping dns_servers
Ping request could not find host dns_servers. Please check the name and try agai
n.
C:\Users\all>ping 206.190.60.37
Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=50
Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 43ms, Maximum = 44ms, Average = 43ms
C:\Users\all>yahoo.com
'yahoo.com' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
C:\Users\all>ping yahoo.com
Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=53
Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 63ms, Maximum = 74ms, Average = 68ms
C:\Users\all>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
so you have some ping tests - make a note of the ones that worked above and how you accessed to produce those - as you will need to repeat the tests

so in what mode is that Safe or Normal - which ever it is - tell us and then repeat all the tests again for the other mode - including an ipconfig /all
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top