Internet Options- Content Advisor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

apocryphon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5
Hi. Work out of an old IBM Thinkpad, use Windows XP. Bought it in used condition, everything fine except that the previous user had blocked access to any web site through Internet Options, Content Advisor. Get the message asking for a password every time I launch Internet Explorer. And I dont know the pass word. Help. Will this go away if i download, say, Mozilla Firefox?
 

apocryphon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5
Thnx claymore. But the website cannot be accessed. If you are still around please help.
 
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
2,548
Hello again,

Here's the instructions from the web page:

How to Remove Content Advisor Password in Internet Explorer

The following steps will remove any password set in the Internet Explorer Content Advisor and allow you to reset the program to its original state.

1) Click on Start and choose Run.

2) Type in regedit and select OK.

3) Now click on the little plus sign to the left of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.

4) Continue to drill down, always clicking on the plus sign at the left of the named key, through Software, Microsoft, Windows, Current Version and Policies.

5) Now click on the Ratings folder.


6) In the right pane of the Registry Editor window, you'll see an icon called Key. Right-click on it and press Delete.

7) Next, choose Registry and then Exit to exit the Registry Editor. You've just deleted your original Content Advisor password.

8) Restart the computer and run Internet Explorer again.

9) Choose View and then Internet Options (or Options for version 3.x). For IE 5 or greater, Click on Tools, Internet Options.

10) Click on the Content tab and click on Disable. When asked for a password, don't enter anything; just click on OK. This will disable Content Advisor because there's no longer a password.
 

apocryphon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5
Thanks a million. It worked like a dream. Was struggling with this the last couple of days. And thanks again. Am in a remote forest area in the heartland of India, dependent on very weak wireless internet. You dont know what this means to me.
 
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
2,548
Super!
I'm in a remote forest area in northern Canada, Isn't the internet great?
 

apocryphon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5
Yes Claymore, its great. However this is new for me. A large dam is being near where I have been working for many years in a missionary school. Some engineer dumped his laptop on me and the Dam has an extensive wireless system which helps me to connect. It is a new tool for me and a new life. Already has me thinking of how to enrich and empower the children at the school.
I do have another problem. The guy who sold his laptop to me ( for Us$100) has his name on all the programmes and documents. How do I remove his name and put in mine?
Must be boring for you to help out green horns like me, but I am 250 miles from the nearest town.
Thanks again.
 
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
2,548
To business first:

Create an account for yourself:
Go to Start => Settings => Control Panel => User Accounts
Click 'Create a new Account'
Enter your name (e.g. Bob) and click through the setup, making sure you make yourself a 'Computer Administrator'.

Restart the computer and logon to your new account.
Go to the previous owner's account in My Computer (Explorer) and copy off anything you think you may need.
I suggest you leave this account for a few days just in case there's something you need from there. After that go to User Accounts in Control Panel and Delete the previous owner's account.

Change the Computer Name
This can be done manually, but this will make it easy. Download and run this .vbs script (double-click on the downloaded file):
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/computername.vbs

Change the Computer Owner
Change the Registered Owner with this .vbs script:
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/changeownerorg.vbs

The name of the owner should be different from the name of account you just set up. One could be Bob and the other Bob-B, or something.

Restart the computer.

For individual program's registered to the previous owner, this can usually only be fixed by re-installing the program, or searching the Registry for entries with the previous owner's name (Edit => Find and then F3 to find more); and manually Modifying them to yours (right-click on the entry).

=================

I'm also in the sticks. The nearest road is 180 miles away. Been in these parts 40 years. Also work for the Church. Our local pastor is from Chennai. Small world.
 

apocryphon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5
Thanks again. Am following procedure. Will wait for a couple of days and then complete it, as directed.

Yes, its a small world, but Chennai is 2000 kms away from here and Chennai is civilisation. Your pastor wouldnt know Sironj in the heartlands of India.

As said am working out of a wireless connection, which is on and off, so dont be put off by any delay in expressions of gratitude.

40 years in one place? You must have grown deep deep roots!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top