Internet problem on Windows 7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mudkip

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
5
Hello
I have a problem with my internet thats bugging me since April. The problem is, my internet disconnects after playing any game i have on my computer. The problem starts like this: I enter a game (multiplayer/singleplayer) and after a few minutes my internet stops working. It shows "Unidentified network". As i said, this problem has hapened since April, but at start it only hapened to 1 game, then all of my steam games, and then even minecraft... I really want to play games with my friends again, and i would really appreciate any help. I have a Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireless Device network adapter and a Linksys router. Im using the wireless internet. If anyone needs any more info about my pc, i would be glad to tell them. Thanks!

-Mudkip
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Playing a multi/single player game over a wireless connection is folly. Especially on a b/g network. Wire into the router directly and see if you have any better luck.
 

Mudkip

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
5
Last time i tried that, i had to enter a username and password, problem is, i dunno what they are :/
Maybe there is a default username and password that would work? Thanks.
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,202
whose router is it? Get the username/pwd from the owner, and plug in wired. Wireless you are going to get exactly the problems you are describing.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,428
You shouldn't need any username or password to connect by ethernet to the router. It would be good to know if the problem happens this way or if it is only a wireless issue.

I guess I'm in the minority here, but I see no a priori reason why your Wi-Fi network cannot be reliable (not as reliable as ethernet, but shouldn't be losing the connection).

For the wireless connection please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

Mudkip

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
5


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Roberts>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RoPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : apollo.lv

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-6F-65-49-42-38
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : apollo.lv
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
s Device
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-30-4F-7C-ED-07
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a0c4:9764:cb37:f965%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.108(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : ceturtdiena, 2011. gada 3. novembrī 16:06
:12
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : piektdiena, 2011. gada 4. novembrī 16:06:
11
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184561743
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-A5-E3-87-00-30-4F-7C-ED-07

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 80.232.230.242
195.122.12.242
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.apollo.lv:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : apollo.lv
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73b8:14ea:1a39:ab12:5f6e(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14ea:1a39:ab12:5f6e%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Roberts>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,428
The signal is not strong enough for a reliable (or "robust" as the Xirrus user manual states) connection.
 

Mudkip

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
5
Sooo, that means if i want to continue playing online, i need to switch to a wired connection?
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,202
Yup. More or less. Still curious as to why you don't have the username/pwd to the wired connection.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,428
Moving the router, even a small distance, may avoid some obstacle and dramatically improve the signal strength. Or a better antenna on the router may help if distance is the issue.
 

Mudkip

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
5
Just tried to connect my pc with a wire again. Didnt ask for any passwords or usernames, i was able to play Battlefield 3 for over an hour without disconnect :)
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
18
try setting it to static ip instead of dynamic...you can do so in the wireless adaptor options... i mean something like 192.168.1.2 etc... might just speed things up...though i also feel signal strength maybe the issue.if not try changing the wireless adaptor you are using...get a new adaptor
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top