1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet problems

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Catriona3478, Jan 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Catriona3478

    Catriona3478 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Hi i built my computer this time last year and i have had no problems with it prior. I just moved into a college sanctioned apartment and had internet access for about a week and then it stopped working on my desktop. It works on my laptop and cell phone but not on my desktop i have tried redownloading the software for my adapter i have tried to let windows 7 diagnose and repair it i have frequently reset the modem itself by unplugging it and repluging it i tried putting in commands as admin that i found in a prior post on here and nothing has worked please please help i dont know what to do and i need my computer.
     
  2. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Does your desktop have a built in wifi or are you using a USB antenna?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. Catriona3478

    Catriona3478 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    i am using a belkin surf and share wireless usb adapter model F7D2101 v1

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mackenzie>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mackenzie-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Surf & Share Wireless USB Adapter
    #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 94-44-52-B4-8F-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{BA742D4D-0D0A-44E1-8E7C-1B3857FB767D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Mackenzie>
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Can you detect your network? If so, what exactly happens when you try to connect?
     
  6. Catriona3478

    Catriona3478 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I can detect the network i click on it it asks me for the password i put it in it is definitely correct it tries to connect for a bit and then says that it couldnt connect to network when i trouble shoot the problem it goes through resetting my my adapter then asks me to reset the router i do that and it says that the problem with the router is not fixed but it cannot be the router because i have a bunch of other devices that are capable of connecting and accessing the internet.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  8. Catriona3478

    Catriona3478 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I talked to an IT guy briefly and informally who knows a bit about the connection system and he said that it shouldnt be encrypted because i didnt know how to disable encryption. So it shouldnt be that it is encrypted but if it is how would i do that because i do not know how..
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    Login to the router, preferably with an ethernet connection, navigate to the wireless section and change the Encryption (or Security) Mode to 'none' or 'off' or similar. To re-enable you do the same thing except set the Mode to whatever it is now.
     
  10. Catriona3478

    Catriona3478 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I live in a school sanctioned apt where they set up the wifi for us and we do not have the login and password for my router im assuming this is the only way but if you know anything else i can try while in pursuit of the login information that would be great.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,617
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's not clear from the symptoms what is wrong. The encryption disable/re-enable is something that sometimes fixes, and is usually quick and easy to try, but is no guarantee. Let's look for some more possibilities ...

    Do you have a Belkin utility running to try to manage the wireless? If so, disable or uninstall it and try with Windows only.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,697
    First Name:
    James
    Does the wireless connection listed have a lock next to it?
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141061

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice