Internet Problems....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Operating System Version:Win XP & 98se

I have a question. I have a broadband internet connectiong at home. I have the line going into a router. It then splits off into 2 lines. 1 for my computer (XP) and the other for my wifes (98se) I have no problem getting the internet to connect to my computer thru the router. My wifes computer does not get an IP address, and therefore, can not connect to the internet. If I try and plug the modem directly into her computer and bypass the router, I have the same problem. I have changed network cards, cables, reinstalled drivers, and formatted her computer with no solution. Anyone know what the problem could be? It worked fine just about a week ago.

Thanks in advance!!!
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Is the machine set to use DHCP? If your ISP uses DHCP to give out IP adresses plug the modem into her machine and at a DOS prompt type

ipconfig /release
then
ipconfig /renew
See if you get an ip.
ipconfig /all
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
If I try and plug the modem directly into her computer and bypass the router, I have the same problem
sounds like a problem with the 98 PC.

first lets see how your (XP) PC is configured

start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

then lets have a look at the win98 PC
( in the above replace cmd with command - or go to dos prompt)

Just read that it worked a week ago
It may be spyware which has taken the winsock out of the 98 PC.

Have you had a virus etc......

If you can copy a program across on to the 98 machine

post a hjt log

HIJACK THIS:

Download and copy hijackthis [should be version 1.99] to its own folder , it makes backups so keeping them separate and available can be useful.
SO DO NOT put hjt onto the desktop or temp files.

create a directory say my documents/hjt


Note the Spyware tools websites are very often under attack and so I have provided more than 1 location to download from:

Version at 16/12/04

http://computercops.biz/zx/Merijn/hijackthis.zip (Version 1.99)
http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip (Version 1.99)
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip (Version 1.99)
http://209.133.47.200/~merijn/downloads.html (Version 1.99)
http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/ (Version 1.99)
http://aumha.org/downloads/hijackthis.exe (Version 1.99)
http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ (Version 1.99)
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html (Version 1.99)
http://www.thewhities.com/ (Version 1.99)

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ (1.98.2)
http://www.net-integration.net/tools/hijackthis.html (Version 1.98.2)
http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis1982.zip (Version 1.98.2)
http://computercops.biz/zx/Merijn/hijackthis1982.zip (Version 1.98.2)

http://www.sherrylynn.us/privacypolicy (this has an older version 1.97 - if you can not get to any of the above sites)

{NOTE: Systems infected with the 'Ms4Hd' rootkit parasite will experience crashes in HijackThis 1.99.x since this parasite deliberately crashes programs that try to detect it. For such cases, Use HijackThis 1.98.2 }

You must make sure all startup programs are selected - to do this:
This does NOT apply to win2K
Open Start> Run and type MSConfig in the 'Run' box.
When the System Configuration Utility opens, go to the 'Startup Tab' and make sure there is a checkmark beside each and every entry entry.
Goto the general tab and makesure that the "normal startup" option is checked.
REBOOT when asked to by Windows to complete the change.

Close all open windows and open Hijack This. Click “Scan”. When the scan is finished (Fix checked button appearing, may take a while on some systems), the scan button will change to “Save Log”.
Click on “Save Log” and then it should save and open in NotePad.
Click on “Edit” – “Select all” – “copy” and then “paste” into the thread.
DO NOT FIX ANYTHING wait advice from one of the many security experts in this forum.

I currently do not have the skill/competence to advise and poor advice can be far more damaging to your PC with this software, and so I will be unable to add any advice on the log and so will nolonger be replying to your post with regards to the HJT issue, so please have patience and wait for one of the secruity experts to provide further detailed advice

i will however, be notified when you post the log

The secruity forum gets very busy - so you may not get an instant reply to your log - If you do not get a response in 24hrs - they post another reply and this will bring the log back to the top of the forum, just in case its missed



----------------------
Just in case download LPSfix
http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
and keep safe - do not use until requested
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Since you just formatted and reinstalled, and haven't been able to connect to the Internet, it would seem unlikely that you have spyware or corrupted Winsock registry entries.

But if you want to try replacing the Winsock files on the Win98 computer,

To Remove the existing winsock2 registry entries (regardless of the OS) run:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/xp_del_winsock.reg

To add Win98 clean entries back in again, run:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/reg/win98_winsock.reg

Just copy both Reg files to a floppy from the XP computer and run them on the Win98 one.

Also, for the Win98 computer, are you using a known working network card, cable and port on the router.
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Bob,

I am positive the card, cable, and router port work. I have tried all of the same equipment on my XP computer and it works fine. I will try it when I get home.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
So even after a clean install it still failed.

Might try another slot on the motherboard for the network card.
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Already tried all of the available slots. I pulled existing working cards out of the slots and put in the network card. It still won't work.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
As a test, what happens if you try and statically enter in the all the IP information (IP address, subnet mask, gateway and DNS).

Also, on the Win98 computer, are you getting lights on both the network card and router port. Not that having lights means it will work. But that if you don't have lights it probably won't.
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
All lights work. Is there a way for me to find the static information on my XP computer? I don't know what the settings are. This way, I could manually enter them on the other machine and give that a shot.

Basically what I want to do is get the 98 computer working directly off the modem first. I will then network it. I figure this way, it oculd eliminate some possibilites of errors.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
On the XP Computer - Start / Run / cmd
Then run IPCONFIG /ALL

Note the IP information you will need

On the Win98 Computer
Right click on Network Neighborhood
Properties
Double click on TCP/IP
Enter in everything the same except for the last number in the actual IP address.
Reboot
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Thanks a lot. I will try everything and then post later on tonight to see if the problem has been fixed.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Before testing the Internet, you might want to just try and ping the router's IP address. This would be the same as the gateway IP.

From the Win98 computer, open up a DOS window. Then run:

Ping 192.168.0.1 (replace with the actual IP address of the router)

If this doesn't work you are not likely to get to the Internet.
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Sorry for the dumb question, but how do I find out what the routers IP address is?
 

nasTone

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
12
Bob,

Nothing worked.
I tried the winsock thing. Nothing...
I tried to ping the router. Nothing... Everything was lost.
If I ping 127.0.0.1, everything looks as it should.
Once again, I tried to bypass the router and go directly into the PC. Nothing...
I tried the card in different slots. Nothing...
The lights on the card are still green along with the ones on the router.
I don't know what else to do here.

Let me know if you can think of something else. Thank you for your help so far.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top