1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet prompt Win.98

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by loutrev, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. loutrev

    loutrev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    I am having a myriad of problems that I am beginning to think may be all interconnected. The most prevalent is that when I am logged off I get two different prompts. One is the internet connect that should come up when I click on internet explorer, but it comes up of it's own free will. The other is an internet prompt that say that the page I requested is not available online. Only I haven't requested anything. I also cannot put my computer on standby, because the computer says I have a program running. I cannot use defrag, it will just sit there and go no where.
    I have tried numerous things. I have moved everything I can think of off my start menu. I have tried running the defrag from the safe mode, no success. The standby, I don't know, because I can't figure out what program is supposedly running. The prompt is a real nuisance. It crashes what I am working on currently offline and I have to clear it and then open the other program again. Please someone give me some help. I am at my wits end!
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Do a on-line virus scan at http://housecall.trendmicro.com

    ***

    Get and run Hijack This from http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ Unzip and run HJT, click Scan Now, click the Save Log button, copy and paste the log contents here in a reply for further analysis.

    ***
    Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

    Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quotation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

    It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.

    In the System Configuration Utility (SCU), you can uncheck programs you suspect one at a time and restart your computer. If something doesn't work right, you can always go back into the SCU and re-check it and restart your computer via the Start button. The changes are completely reversible by re-checking an item in SCU or by selecting Normal Startup under the General tab in the SCU and all the programs listed run when Windows starts as it was before you started.
    to this for further analysis.
     
  3. loutrev

    loutrev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Hey Styxx
    i cleaned out the start up menu. thanks for the pointers on this. i also found that i have 40% of unused space. i downloaded the hijack this program and ran the scan it is pasted below. hope it makes sense
    Scan saved at 11:37:04 PM, on 09/17/2003
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGLOOP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSG32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPA.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DATE MANAGER\DATEMANAGER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PRECISIONTIME\PRECISIONTIME.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\NETROPA\ONSCRE~1\OSD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\CMEII\CMESYS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\GMT\GMT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EACCELERATION\EANTHOLOGY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {6ACD11BD-4CA0-4283-A8D8-872B9BA289B6} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ACCELERATION SOFTWARE\STOPSIGN\WEBCBROWSE.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiKey] Atitask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSHWIN32.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Keyboard Manager] C:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CMESys] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\CMEII\CMESYS.EXE"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSHWIN32.EXE /NOSPLASH
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TweakIco] c:\hp\support\tweakico.exe
    O4 - Startup: Date Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Date Manager\DateManager.exe
    O4 - Startup: PrecisionTime.lnk = C:\Program Files\PrecisionTime\PrecisionTime.exe
    O4 - User Startup: Date Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Date Manager\DateManager.exe
    O4 - User Startup: PrecisionTime.lnk = C:\Program Files\PrecisionTime\PrecisionTime.exe
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Lite (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ Lite (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Block This Page (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {234B7457-1A7E-4268-BA71-9936F0C78BEC} (ContentCleanup3X Control) - http://www.contentcleanup.com/cleanup/includes/ContentCleanup3Proj1.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://www.contentwatch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {459729AC-727D-4D97-B18A-72EE224EFEC0} (MDefControl Class) - http://defender.veloz.com/pub/download/stop-sign_stp_test.cab

    to you. lou
     
  4. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    In Hijack This, check ALL of the following items. Double check so as to be sure not to miss a single one.
    Next, close all browser Windows, and have HT fix all checked.

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {6ACD11BD-4CA0-4283-A8D8-872B9BA289B6} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ACCELERATION SOFTWARE\STOPSIGN\WEBCBROWSE.DLL

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CMESys] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\CMEII\CMESYS.EXE"
    O4 - Startup: Date Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Date Manager\DateManager.exe
    O4 - Startup: PrecisionTime.lnk = C:\Program Files\PrecisionTime\PrecisionTime.exe

    O4 - User Startup: Date Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Date Manager\DateManager.exe
    O4 - User Startup: PrecisionTime.lnk = C:\Program Files\PrecisionTime\PrecisionTime.exe

    O16 - DPF: {234B7457-1A7E-4268-BA71-9936F0C78BEC} (ContentCleanup3X Control) - http://www.contentcleanup.com/clean...eanup3Proj1.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://www.contentwatch.com/audit/i...uditControl.cab


    IF you are running ME or XP Disable SYSTEM RESTORE : Here's How

    Next reboot into Safe Mode and remove the following files and folders that are bolded

    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\CMEII\CMESYS.EXE"
    C:\Program Files\Date Manager\DateManager.exe
    C:\Program Files\PrecisionTime\PrecisionTime.exe
    C:\Program Files \Acceleration Software\Stopsign\Webcbrowse.dll

    See here http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001052409420406 for how to start in safe mode if you don't know how.

    Reboot into normal mode

    RE-ENABLE SYSTEM RESTORE and create a new restore point


    Now download Spybot - Search & Destroy (if you haven't got the program installed already)

    After installing, first press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove/fix all it finds that are in RED

    Reboot

    Last, run HJT again and post your log again to see if anything was missed.

    Thanks
     
  5. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    What do you mean by 40% unused space? Where did you get that information? If you right-click My Computer and point to Properties you see your computer's free Resources as to RAM etc., not unused space on the hard drive. If your computer's resources are only 40% free you're not in very good shape. You've got to restart your computer after using the SCU as described above. Then check your free resources.

    Mcaffee is a notorious resource hog. If you haven't already paid the ridiculous $20 per year to get the Mcaffee virus definitions subscription - get free featured AntVir Anti-virus from http://free-av.com or free full featured AVG from http://www.grisoft.com Uninstall McCheapie in the Add/Remove Programs control panel; restart your computer; Then double-click the AntiVir or AVG download to start its installation. I use AntiVir but with a click of the mouse AVG will scan incoming and out going e-mail for virus, Trojan or variant whereas Mcaffee will not without resetting it to check e-mail each and every time before you want to check e-mail.
     
  6. loutrev

    loutrev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Hey Styxx

    The check on the start menu seems to have solved the pop up problem on the network prompt. So far it hasn't appeared again, not even when I am first starting up. I am also able to run disk defrag now, so something in the start menu was blocking it. Sorry about the misunderstanding with the 40%space. I am very computer illiterate you will realize. I did the check again and it says I have 62% resources available. I will try the virus thing next, just to be on the safe side. Only problem that still seems to be prevalent is that the computer will not go on standby. Get back to you later.
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EACCELERATION\EANTHOLOGY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\GMT\GMT.EXE


    NH, shouldn't this crap go too?????
     
  8. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    loutrev,

    you would be best advised not to use standby, sleep mode or any other so-called 'sleep' feature. Disable that feature in Display Properties - right-click your Desktop; point to Properties; click the screen saver tab; click the lower Settings button- under the General tab use the drop-down arrow to choose Home/Office Desk; Turn off Monitor/15 minutes; Turn off Hard drive/30 minutes; System Standby or Sleep Mode/Never; Click Apply; Click Ok. Using sleep mode will cause you difficulties and it's all unnecessary!

    You'd surely have to temporarily disable your screen saver (choose None) even in Safe Mode, for Defrag or Scan Disk to finish correctly.
     
  9. loutrev

    loutrev Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks,
    Had already determined I could live without the standby if the other problems were fixed. Thanks for the help. My problems seem to be fixed satisfactorily. I also did get rid of mcafee and put in antivir. I am now at 86% resource. The defrag has the computer running nicely.
     
  10. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    You bet, Candy!!! Both GMT and Precision Time are from our "nasty friends" over at Gator.

    Deep six that and delete the whole GMT folder.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165537

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice