Internet properties not staying set

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
When I go to internet properties and change settings, when the computer
looses it's internet connection or is shut down, the choices I made in
internet properties reverts back to the defaults. For example under conn
ections, i choose to have the computer dial a connection when one is no
t present. When it is shut down or looses connection it goes to never d
ial a connection. I can also go to msconfig under run and uncheck star
t up programs and sometimes it checks them back, like windows is not re
membering what I want or else it is just being a butt. Please help. I

am getting a lot of blue screens I think explorer may be screwed up. I re
cently did a wipe out and have been in the process of reloading, and the
same problems are starting again.





Product . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Compaq PC
Processor . . . . . . . .AMD-K6-2 at 450 MHz
Windows Version . . . . . . . . . . . . . 98
Revision . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4.10
Total Compaq Memory . . . . . 64 Megabytes
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
What programs are you unchecking that keep re-appearing? MSN messenger or AOL instant messenger maybe?

If so, each has settings to 'start on windows startup' that must be unchecked in their respective programs.......
 

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
The most aggravting one is in internet properties. I check the one that says dial a connection when one is not present and it reverts back to nerver dial a connection when something of a program causes explorer to do an illegal operation and all my explorer windows shut down. I was also having trouble with windows rembering that I wanted all windows maximized. This is just 2 examples

mkb
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
This could well be a program that starts up automatically as Windows loads that changes your settings back again.

Why not show your startup proggies:

Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
Paste the contents in your post.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Let's first take a look at the start up items.....one thing at a time and we'll get to the bottom of it.

Also, if you'll post the EXACT error message you are getting, hitting the details button, if that option is available, that will help as well.

For now, go to the start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok......go to software environment, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.


Sheesh, can you tell I have a 56k connection.......you're in good hands with Tony, I'm in the middle of a win98 install, so I'll check back on you later........
 

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
Microsoft Find Fast Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE"
News Alert Registry (Per-User Run) C:\Program Files\MSNBC\Alert\NEWSALRT.EXE
MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
OEMCLEANUP Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\OPTIONS\oemreset.exe
IJ75P2PSERVER Registry (Machine Run) IJ75P2PS.EXE
Gator Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Gator.com\Gator\Gator.exe"
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
Vet Alert Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\System\VetMsg9x.exe
VetTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\INOCUL~1\VETTRAY.EXE
Vet Start Up Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\INOCUL~1\VET98.EXE /PROGRESSIVE
Tweak UI Registry (Machine Run) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
FinePrint Dispatcher Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\fpdisp3a.exe
FinePrint Dispatcher v4 Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\fpdisp4a.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Tweak UI Registry (Machine Service) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Registry (Machine Service) sa3dsrv.exe
ConfigServices Registry (Machine Service) C:\CPQS\TOOLS\CONFIG.EXE
 

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
I also incredimail and weather bug installed at startup. I know for a fact that both of them were causing problems error messages and blue screens. When I took them off, the problem is not as bad. I have had both of these programs running at startup before without any problems.

error messages

1) An Exception OE has occured at 0028:C178539 in VXD ---.
This was called from 0028:C14AF095 in VXD VTD I (01) +
000185

2) An Exception OE has occured at 0028:F000E72C

3) A Fatal Exception has occured at 0028:C155FDA2 VXD Win
95 AC

4) A Fatal Exception has occured at 0028:C17B74B

5) 0028:C1783575

6) 0028:F000497A

7) 0028:C1716D98

8) 0028:2C000010

9) 0028:C16C0312

10) C16BEEE5 VXD Win 95 AC
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, just for fun:

Let's disable everything except for these:

ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme


Go to the start button, run, then type msconfig and press ok...go to the startup tab and uncheck everything except those listed above......don't download any emails or open any files that you may receive by email during this test!

And by the way, you'll probably want to get rid of some spyware (that Gator can be nasty) --- but let's see what happens with these items disabled first.
 

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
Done, now I am shutting down so the new settings can take effect.
brb
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2001
Messages
2,578
:eek: Hello Mbech,

You have waaaay to many programs running on startup. In addition you have spyware loaded (Gator). First go to Start/Run. Type in msconfig and press OK. Click on the startup tab. Uncheck everything listed except systray,scanreg, load powerprofiles(x2) and any virus related applications. Reboot when prompted. Next go to here and download ADAWARE to get rid of the spyware. If you downloaded Gator on purpose I highly recommend that you remove it by the usual ways, ie: add/remove or program uninstall. These steps will clear up most if not all of the errors. Good luck! KW1
 

mbech

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 1999
Messages
58
What do you suggest I leave in startup? What is the best and fastest way to access the programs I take out of start up. (Desktop, shortcut)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top