1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet properties not staying set

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mbech, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    When I go to internet properties and change settings, when the computer
    looses it's internet connection or is shut down, the choices I made in
    internet properties reverts back to the defaults. For example under conn
    ections, i choose to have the computer dial a connection when one is no
    t present. When it is shut down or looses connection it goes to never d
    ial a connection. I can also go to msconfig under run and uncheck star
    t up programs and sometimes it checks them back, like windows is not re
    membering what I want or else it is just being a butt. Please help. I

    am getting a lot of blue screens I think explorer may be screwed up. I re
    cently did a wipe out and have been in the process of reloading, and the
    same problems are starting again.





    Product . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Compaq PC
    Processor . . . . . . . .AMD-K6-2 at 450 MHz
    Windows Version . . . . . . . . . . . . . 98
    Revision . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4.10
    Total Compaq Memory . . . . . 64 Megabytes
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What programs are you unchecking that keep re-appearing? MSN messenger or AOL instant messenger maybe?

    If so, each has settings to 'start on windows startup' that must be unchecked in their respective programs.......
     
  3. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    The most aggravting one is in internet properties. I check the one that says dial a connection when one is not present and it reverts back to nerver dial a connection when something of a program causes explorer to do an illegal operation and all my explorer windows shut down. I was also having trouble with windows rembering that I wanted all windows maximized. This is just 2 examples

    mkb
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    This could well be a program that starts up automatically as Windows loads that changes your settings back again.

    Why not show your startup proggies:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Let's first take a look at the start up items.....one thing at a time and we'll get to the bottom of it.

    Also, if you'll post the EXACT error message you are getting, hitting the details button, if that option is available, that will help as well.

    For now, go to the start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok......go to software environment, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.


    Sheesh, can you tell I have a 56k connection.......you're in good hands with Tony, I'm in the middle of a win98 install, so I'll check back on you later........
     
  6. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    Microsoft Find Fast Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE"
    News Alert Registry (Per-User Run) C:\Program Files\MSNBC\Alert\NEWSALRT.EXE
    MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    OEMCLEANUP Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\OPTIONS\oemreset.exe
    IJ75P2PSERVER Registry (Machine Run) IJ75P2PS.EXE
    Gator Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Gator.com\Gator\Gator.exe"
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
    Vet Alert Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\System\VetMsg9x.exe
    VetTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\INOCUL~1\VETTRAY.EXE
    Vet Start Up Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\INOCUL~1\VET98.EXE /PROGRESSIVE
    Tweak UI Registry (Machine Run) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    FinePrint Dispatcher Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\fpdisp3a.exe
    FinePrint Dispatcher v4 Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\fpdisp4a.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Tweak UI Registry (Machine Service) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
    Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Registry (Machine Service) sa3dsrv.exe
    ConfigServices Registry (Machine Service) C:\CPQS\TOOLS\CONFIG.EXE
     
  7. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    I also incredimail and weather bug installed at startup. I know for a fact that both of them were causing problems error messages and blue screens. When I took them off, the problem is not as bad. I have had both of these programs running at startup before without any problems.

    error messages

    1) An Exception OE has occured at 0028:C178539 in VXD ---.
    This was called from 0028:C14AF095 in VXD VTD I (01) +
    000185

    2) An Exception OE has occured at 0028:F000E72C

    3) A Fatal Exception has occured at 0028:C155FDA2 VXD Win
    95 AC

    4) A Fatal Exception has occured at 0028:C17B74B

    5) 0028:C1783575

    6) 0028:F000497A

    7) 0028:C1716D98

    8) 0028:2C000010

    9) 0028:C16C0312

    10) C16BEEE5 VXD Win 95 AC
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ok, just for fun:

    Let's disable everything except for these:

    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme


    Go to the start button, run, then type msconfig and press ok...go to the startup tab and uncheck everything except those listed above......don't download any emails or open any files that you may receive by email during this test!

    And by the way, you'll probably want to get rid of some spyware (that Gator can be nasty) --- but let's see what happens with these items disabled first.
     
  9. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    Done, now I am shutting down so the new settings can take effect.
    brb
     
  10. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :eek: Hello Mbech,

    You have waaaay to many programs running on startup. In addition you have spyware loaded (Gator). First go to Start/Run. Type in msconfig and press OK. Click on the startup tab. Uncheck everything listed except systray,scanreg, load powerprofiles(x2) and any virus related applications. Reboot when prompted. Next go to here and download ADAWARE to get rid of the spyware. If you downloaded Gator on purpose I highly recommend that you remove it by the usual ways, ie: add/remove or program uninstall. These steps will clear up most if not all of the errors. Good luck! KW1
     
  11. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :D OOps, I using 56K too AcaCandy! Or maybe I'm just the world's slowest typist.
     
  12. mbech

    mbech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    58
    What do you suggest I leave in startup? What is the best and fastest way to access the programs I take out of start up. (Desktop, shortcut)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60768

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice