1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet randomly shuts down

Discussion in 'Networking' started by batterybrain, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. batterybrain

    batterybrain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you all for taking the time to read this and responding. For the past four or five days my internet will cut out for no reason that i can discern and i have to "diagnose and repair" then "reset network adapter", sometimes five or six times to get it back online. The two most common errors i get when it cuts out are "Cannot connect to primary DNS server" and "Your modem or router is not available?" something like that. It seems to go in spurts I can go two hours with no problem and sometimes it disconnected every 30 sec for 30 min straight. When it does go out though, it always goes out ~2-5 more times soon after it reconnects. I'll try to post as much info as i can.

    My PC is hooked up to a modem (maybe a modem/router in one unit, not sure) It's a Motorola SGB 901. When the net drops none of the lights change, they all stay solid. Also, other computers that are hooked up to it wirelessly don't have any problems. This leads me to conclude its my computer and not the modem/router. My ISP is Conway Corporation and i'm using Widows vista operating system 32-bit.

    Also, i've noticed that when it does cut out i'm usually using a lot of bandwidth at the time, either on an online game or multiple tabs open in IE. This could just be coincidence however because it doesn't always cut out when i have multiple pages up or am playing a game. I also switched ethernet cords and that didn't help so i dont think thats the issue. I would try to hook up wirelessly but my PC can't

    Here's my ipconfig info:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Murray>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Murray-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-0F-D7-85
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c54:2eb8:e76f:c91a(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c54:2eb8:e76f:c91a%9(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain_not_set.invalid
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Murray>

    Here's my ping attempts while its working:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Murray>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Murray>ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [74.125.45.104] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 43ms, Maximum = 58ms, Average = 47ms

    C:\Users\Murray>ping 74.125.45.104
    Pinging 74.125.45.104 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=54
    Reply from 74.125.45.104: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 42ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 49ms

    I've tried to get it to drop by opening a bunch of pages and loading stuff but it doesn't work so i can't post what it does when it's not working right now (i know this is what will be most helpful and i will post it as soon as i can)

    I've tried doing ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew but it didn't help. I tried manually setting my ipaddress, default gateway, subnetmask, and prefered and alternate DNS servers but it didn't solve the problem. I've also had it automatically detect both which doesn't make a difference either. I also did this

    Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog
    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and ipconfig /flushdns

    Lets see, I have tried turning off/on windows firewall and windows defender, neither of which seem to make a differance. I have Malwarebytes, Adaware, and Trend Micro Internet Security Pro (however, i've never been able to get the personal firewall to work on it, i've always gotten the error/warning message "Your personal firewall has shut down. Try restarting Trend Micro Internet Security Pro (which doesnt help)...Make sure you have started the "Base Filtering Engine" service. (which is working i believe, i checked it once but don't remeber how to do it again) So i believe with windows firewall off, i don't have any running, so i'm not sure that is effecting the connection.

    I also had a problem a few weeks ago with my monitor going into power save mode and not coming out of it without a manual restart of my PC. I traced that to my graphics card overheating, so i cleaned everything out and added some ventilation and haven't had that issue since...however, i'm not sure if that could be related to this.

    I have also noticed a marked decrease in my web page loading speeds and latency while on WoW, not the entire time i've been having the problem but the past day. That makes me think it might be a virus? Thats slowly eating my computers faculties haha but none of the aforementioned programs detects anything.

    Also restarting my PC doesn't help, however unplugging the modem/router and waiting for 15 sec then plugging it back in, has worked the past few times i've done it (can't remeber if i still had to "reset network adapter" for it to work after unplug or not.) I've also unistalled a windows update and an adobe reader update that installed after the problem started, and that didn't help either!

    I've also tried updating the drivers/software from HP's website for my computer. However, i can't find the place to update my modem/routers firmware. Motorola says all the ISP's handle those updates, but Conway Corp. doesn't seem to have any updates on their website. Also when i type 192.168.0.1 i can't log in to check/change anything in there because i dont remeber my password! I've also tried updating my network adapters driver, which didn't help and it says that "this device is working properly" =/

    The only thing i can think of to do at this point is restore my system to a time before i was having the problem. But i wanted to check and see if there were any other suggestions before i did so.

    Thanks for reading all of this, let me know what more information you need (besides the ping results when the internet cuts out...which i will post asap) ~Murray (batterybrain)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    You provided good information; and, yes, the ping results for when you have the problem should be helpful. If the ping to 192.168.0.1 fails also try pinging your adapter (192.168.0.12).

    So far it sounds like the probable causes are a corrupted Trend Micro Internet Security Pro or defective cable, Motorola ethernet port, computer's ethernet adapter or motherboard.
     
  3. batterybrain

    batterybrain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    ok here's the ipconfig info from when it's not working.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Murray>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    C:\Users\Murray>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again

    C:\Users\Murray>ping 74.125.45.104
    Pinging 74.125.45.104 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    I had to get those results over like six tries because by the time i would get the results for one, the internet would be back up again. All today it has been kicking me off and then coming back all by itself after 10-15 seconds, if that gives any clues.

    I dont think its the Internet Security Pro because i've had that installed and the firewall problems with it since september and the disconnects only have been going on for a week or so now. Also i switched ethernet cords so i'm thinking thats not the problem either, unless they're both defective.

    The other problems you suggested, how would i go about finding if those are in fact the cause? And what would i do to fix them. Thanks let me know what this new information tells you!
     
  4. batterybrain

    batterybrain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    here are the results from a second time of running ipconfig /all while my connection wasn't working, this time i got all the data in one go...its slightly different i think.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Murray>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),

    C:\Users\Murray>PING GOOGLE.COM
    Ping request could not find host GOOGLE.COM. Please check the name and try again
    .
    C:\Users\Murray>ping 74.125.45.104
    Pinging 74.125.45.104 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.12: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    C:\Users\Murray>
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Those are the significant results. Every time, when the problem was occurring, pinging the router gave the time out or unreachable message.

    "Request timed out" could be that the router was not replying or that a firewall was blocking or cable was defective.

    Your adapter saying that the destination is not reachable is saying that it has no idea where the router is, which is ridiculous. I think that indicates failure of the NIC or motherboard or a firewall really, really causing a problem.

    I cannot say for sure, but I would say a computer problem (NIC or motherboard) is the most probable, cable second and firewall third.

    I cannot completely rule out some other strange software problem, so you may want to System Restore to a point before the problems started; you can always reverse or undo a Restore.

    The best test would be to run your computer on somebody else's known working connection and cable and/or to run a different computer on your connection and cable.
     
  6. batterybrain

    batterybrain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I'll try a system restore and see if that works. If it is a firewall, like i said i believe i had all of them disabled, is there a way to find out if i don't? I mean i don't think any other programs i have installed come with a firewall besides windows and internet security pro but idk thats kind of a dumb question but i dont know where else to look.

    If the system restore doesn't work, i'll try hooking up my pc to another network and hooking another computer up to mine with my cable and see where those two steps lead me, then i'll post the results.

    If it turns out that my computer does the same thing on a new network, and the other computer works fine on mine with my ethernet cord, then that means its my hardware. How would i go about checking to see if its the mother board or NIC? Would there be physical signs of damage on either? Like i said my PC was getting pretty hot for awhile, i hadn't been cleaning it like i should've. If no physical signs, would there be some tests i could run to determine?

    I was looking at my network adapter under device manager and it says it is "Nvidia nforce 10/100/1000 mbps Ethernet". My video card is a Nvidia GeForce 7950 GT, it was what was giving me problems because i overheated it. I don't know anything about what does what but could the two be related (same company and all) or are they two separate pieces of hardware. And could they both have been damaged by my poor cleaning and ventilation practices?

    Also, if it is the NIC or motherboard...how much is that going to cost to repair/replace? I appreciate all your help! Hopefully i'll get this straightened out.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Non-Windows firewalls, in order to do their job of protection, have to get entangled deep into the operating system. Supposedly they become completely inactive if you disable them or boot into Safe Mode with Networking.. But the only way to be sure that they are out of the way is to uninstall them, and then sometimes there are still remnants to be cleaned up (many now have supplied a Removal Tool on the web site).

    Overheating could most certainly damage the NIC or motherboard or anything else. If you determine that it is one of those you trouble shoot no further, as it is not worth it. I think your NIC is integrated, so all you do is disable it; if it is a PCI one you can physically remove it. Then you buy a PCI or USB ethernet adapter, and probably pay in the $10 to $30 range.

    (I'm assuming you have a desktop; if it is a laptop please forget that I mentioned "PCI.")
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/964790