1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Internet Slow

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LUIS39, Jun 20, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8080 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -1988 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 460 GB (411 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1495
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    How do I get greater Internet speed? Recently I get a slowing down when switching to another window.

    PC is HP ELITE 8200

    PS: Download 1.96 mbps; 0.52 Upload. very slow.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,946
    First Name:
    James
    What is the plan that you are paying for?

    What devices do you have connected to your internet?

    Check with your internet provider to make sure there are no outages in the area, or if the signals to you are erratic.
     
  3. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Plan: 7mbs and can upgrade to 12.

    The only device connected is the PC. My cell is independent.

    No outages. I checked with Frontier. Not sure what you mean by signals?

    txs
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,946
    First Name:
    James
    The signal the modem gets for the internet.

    First things first, let's powercycle like a pro:

    Shut down the computer, modem, and router if you have one (taking out power for the modem and router).
    Next after 10 seconds, start the modem only. Once you have all lights (power, us/ds, and online), turn on the router if you have one. Wait for the lights to show activity, then turn on your computer.

    Since this is a desktop, I assume you are connected with a wire to your modem? Also what modem is it?
     
  5. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Done-the modem is connected with a long wire
    WINDOWS

    ACTIONTEC

    MODEL GT784WNV

    From Verizon

    The mbps are now 6.65 and 0.69 respectively and its back to normal. Since I have 7.00 as my max, my other option to increase the speed further is to upgrade to 12.oo?
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1228880

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice