1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet speeds droped randomly?. High latency/ping on wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jgun, Nov 12, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. Jgun

    Jgun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,

    I am a Fortnite streamer. I just changed rooms in my house to my bedroom (Which is right above our modem) I had used ethernet before I moved and got about 15 - 25 ping using ethernet when I moved to my room for the first week I was achieving about 20 -40 ping which is pretty average its not until about a week after that I started to have some real issues with my wifi i was in a game right before this happened with my usual 27 ping average i died in the game qued into a new game and when i joined i had about 200 ping and it stayed solid at 200 - 800 this has not been fixed I've watched hours of videos trying to fix it and still cant. The most confusing part about this is how it randomly sprouted from 20 to 200. Please help :) its appreciated.
    It is really frustrating :)
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,537
    Something is causing WiFi interference. It could even be a neighbor's WiFi signal overlapping yours.


    Wikipedia: WiFi > Interference
    Even bad electrical connections can cause broad RF spectrum emissions.

    Solution: Use Ethernet
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,139
    First Name:
    James
    Does your WiFi connection show full bars?
     
  4. Jgun

    Jgun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Yes it does
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,139
    First Name:
    James
    Let's see if you have too much interference:

    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    Download
    http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    Stand alone version of.net framework https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=49981
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    https://www.xirrus.com/free-tools/

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8 & 10
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool
    (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, or windows 10 Search, type "snip" and press enter)
    (From windows 10 - All Apps>Windows Accessories>Snipping Tool
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, bottom right of your post are some buttons ("Upload File" button) and then select the file you want to upload, click on "Open", and the file will be attached to the post.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Jgun

    Jgun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    SSID: Jandk


     

    Attached Files:

  7. Jgun

    Jgun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    I just reset my computer so no
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,139
    First Name:
    James
    That's a lot of SSIDs... I would agree that it would be a signal interference... can you connect to your 5G connection with your computer?
     
  9. Jgun

    Jgun Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Yes, But I have recently been getting higher latency when using a 5G connection and i don't know why
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219013

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice