1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet suddenly not working well at all!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nguidoboni, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nguidoboni

    nguidoboni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    A few nights ago, the internet was working fine. All of the sudden, I wake up, and i can only connect to google and yahoo, and some rare other sites (although it is VERY slow). Also, my download speed is down to less than a kilobyte!

    Before you tell me to run malware scans and all that jazz, I've done it already. I've done everything, I swear. I've been at this for four days and I really need help, because I am REALLY frustrated. Here is what I know you will ask for:

    ISP: Comcast

    Modem: Motorola SURFBoard Make: SB4100 Cable Modem

    Router: DLink DIR-628

    Connection: Wired

    O/S :Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.100226-1909)

    Have you tried to do a system restore to before the problem occurred?
    Yes, I have used a system restore, and it did not help the problem.

    For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
    I am trying that as soon as I complete this post.
    Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    Yes, and to no avail.
    If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
    They all function normally.



    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Nick>PING 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=245
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=245
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=245
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=245

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 99ms, Maximum = 103ms, Average = 100ms

    C:\Users\Nick>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [67.195.160.76] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=55
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 67.195.160.76:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 27ms, Average = 25ms

    C:\Users\Nick>NBTSTAT -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.10] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    LIVINGROOM-HP <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    LIVINGROOM-HP <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

    C:\Users\Nick>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LivingRoom-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-95-F2-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::68cc:6337:4ed4:5e7d%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251667284
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-CD-40-F0-00-23-54-95-F2-18

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.73.242
    68.87.64.146
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D0D65DE3-F243-442E-B068-ED3E87759BD2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e74:3c18:263d:e77f:7aa7(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c18:263d:e77f:7aa7%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled










    Some Extra Ping Info:



    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Nick>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [66.249.80.104] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 66.249.80.104: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
    Reply from 66.249.80.104: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
    Reply from 66.249.80.104: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=56
    Reply from 66.249.80.104: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56

    Ping statistics for 66.249.80.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 21ms, Average = 18ms

    C:\Users\Nick>ping bungie.net

    Pinging bungie.net [65.59.234.97] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 65.59.234.97:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Nick>ping ijji.com

    Pinging ijji.com [206.82.212.79] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 206.82.212.79:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Nick>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=112ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=119ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 111ms, Maximum = 119ms, Average = 113ms

    C:\Users\Nick>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Device Manager uninstall your ethernet driver; reboot and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver. (This in case the driver is corrupted.)

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. nguidoboni

    nguidoboni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I tried this, but it still hasn't helped. =/
     
  4. nguidoboni

    nguidoboni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    It says my IPv6 has no connectivity. How do i fix my IPv6? I already tried resetting it, and it said (no user settings to reset)
     
  5. nguidoboni

    nguidoboni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Nevermind, I realized that my laptop doesn't use it either. So i guess it's not important... :(
     
  6. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    So is your problem solved?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    Right, ipv6 is not used (yet).

    Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from your PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site.

    Sometimes the NIC gets a little flaky and doesn't correctly automatically sync to the correct speed. In Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced - try different settings for the "Speed and Duplex" property. I'd start with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.
     
  8. nguidoboni

    nguidoboni Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I tried what you said, and it hasn't changed the situation.

    [​IMG]

    As you can see my upload speed is great, but my download speed is terrible.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.


    DSLReports

    Here's also the Line Quality Tests FAQ to help you understand the results. This will answer some questions about the line quality display.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918876

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice