Internet uses up 100% CPU

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nan-chan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
7
Whenever I get on the internet and go on mysapce or do anything my computer totally slows down and I did the ctrl-alt-del it showed that my CPU usage was 100%. I have Windows XP and I use AOL but it does the same thing if I use Firefox or internet explorer. If somebody could please help, I would really, really appreciate it.
 

Nan-chan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
7
I'm running my antivirus but its taking a long time. So far it hasn't found anything.
 

Nan-chan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
7
I finished the scan and nothing popped up. I got rid of aol. I got on internet explorer and once again it used up all the CPU. What should I do?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
172
okay, so this isn't an easy fix, still could be aol though, it never fully uninstalls, but i will set aside my aol gripes.

try to figure out exactly what is causing the browsers to hang
1. have you installed any software recently
2. any browser plugins (since it happens with both, i doubt this is the problem)

try running this browser, it is completely independent from your installed system
http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable
(note you must have your version of firefox closed to run it)

make a test html page and see if it hangs (it could be a java problem or flash problem if you are going to those sites)

open notepad and copy and past this test into it and then "save as" test.html , then open it with one of your browsers, does it still eat up processor,

Code:
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<p> Hello world! </p>
</body>
</html>
after the virus scan did you also do an adware scan?
 

Nan-chan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
7
I don't have an adware scan. And i'm confused. I ran the portable Mozilla thing and I saved the test to notepad but I don't know how to open it with a browser. I'm more than just computer illiterate.o_o Um.. can you explain a little.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
172
first off, in my first reply i have a link to adaware's website, its a free adware/spyware scanner. works very well for more things.

second, when you ran the portable mozilla what happened? did it run at 100% processor power. were you able to browse to different pages and view content without a slowdown.

third. once you save the test.html in notepad, go to the file on your desktop and double click on it, it should open with your default browser. or you can right click on the file and go to "open with", firefox and IE will be listed. the other way you can do it, is by opening a browser (ie, the portable firefox) and then going to file>open and find your test file.

note: make sure when you are in notepad that you do file>save as and save the file as "test.html" it must have the .html extension or you will just view the code. i
 

Nan-chan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
7
I ran the adware/ spyware thing and it got rid of a whole bunch of stuff. I ran the portable firefox and it did not take up all my CPU and doing the test did not take up all my cpu either. I guess the problem is fixed, thank you very much.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top