1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet with XP, Ethernet Cable & splitter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by warr1or2, Dec 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. warr1or2

    warr1or2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    I'm trying to get my computer hooked up for internet through this ethernet modem from at&t. I got this splitter from radio shack so the family computer (using for internet at the moment) and my computer can both be online. (family computer is a vista) it's hooked up like Vista to splitter's jack 1, splitter to modem (which works), XP to Splitter's Jack 2 and it won't work. tried swapping and XP detected the modem but couldn't connect and Vista's Died so i swapped it back. Could I have gotten a splitter with a defective jack or is it something else?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with a PC connected to just the Modem would you post an ipconfig /all
    I suspect you need a router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    You have DSL service from AT&T. What is the make/model of the modem

    The phone line connects to the DSL socket on the modem. You do not need a splitter on this line unless you are connecting a telephone.

    Your computer needs to connect to the modem, not the phone line.

    There should be a cable (ethernet) from a LAN port on the modem to the family computer.

    If the modem is a modem/router, it probably has more than one LAN port.
    You need to run a second ethernet cable from another LAN port on the modem. to the ethernet connector on your computer.

    If the modem has only one LAN port, it may be only a modem and you will need more equipment to connect your computer.
     
  4. warr1or2

    warr1or2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Why didn't i think of that? i'll try this to see if it works. and the make of the cable modem is westell (there's no wireless on here)
    and there is one phone port, one ethernet port, and one adapter port, which is why i used the ethernet splitter.
     
  5. warr1or2

    warr1or2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    tried and nothing
    [​IMG]
    this is what comes up. (i'm sure I connected everything.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are you still having problems or has it all been resolved now ?

    if not try this



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. warr1or2

    warr1or2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    came back with IP address 0.0.0.0 and still couldn't connect. DOH!
     
  8. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,965
    If you're using an RJ45 splitter plugged into the modem directly to expand two ports from one, it's not going to work. If the modem is also a router, you need to add a switch. If the modem is only acting as a modem, you need to add a router.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From a Johnwill post

    IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. warr1or2

    warr1or2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Tried it and it's all normal. I even tried connecting it directly to the modem and nothing. would COMPLETELY RESTORING it work?
    on another note now i'm having sound problem and didn't have it before i connected other drives to my computer. Volume is up, mic sound works, playing sounds on a player (like media player, winamp) plays, on windows movie maker it works, Videopad video editor no sound, sound scheme (like start windows sound & whatnot) nothing. Is there a way around these two problems without restoring?
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Do you mean restore or recovery - restore would be a good thing to try
    Start>programs>accessories>system tools>system restore
    choose a date before the issue started

    you should not lose any data - but it is always useful to make sure you have a full backup of data anyway
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1033913

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice