Internet won't connect to facebook or YouTube

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

john_lillie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
37
Here's an odd one for you.

My internet here is fine except for when it comes to facebook or YouTube. I've tried a pc with xp, a laptop which has windows 7 on, and my iphone all to no avail. The laptop works with it fine on other wifi networks as does the phone. The rest of the internet is accessible without issue. It does work rarely but it seems to be random.

Anyone got any ideas on what to do?

I've got a HiJack log I can post if needed
 

john_lillie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
37
It's a home network with no restrictions set up (that I know of and I doubt my dad will know how to!)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
If it works everywhere but at home I would guess that it is being blocked. Go ask your father or do you already know the answer.
 

john_lillie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
37
I cleared the DNS using command prompt on the pc to no avail. I'm on my laptop now on a different wifi network and it's all working fine. The facebook app on my iphone works on the 3g and any other wifi than the one at the farm for some reason. Thing is, it has worked but been totally hit and miss as to when it does.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
it has worked but been totally hit and miss as to when it does.
Could be--I'd say probably is--a routing problem with your ISP. If so, all you can do is gather evidence and then patiently explain the problem to them. After they understand they will fix it within a day.

Best that I know of is to get a tracert when you can access facebook and one when you cannot. Just the one when you cannot access facebook may suffice. I will give details on how to do one and post it here so we can see also and will end with the output I get.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

tracert facebook.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.


And here is mine ...

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Terry>tracert facebook.com

Tracing route to facebook.com [66.220.158.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms 1 ms 192.168.2.1
2 8 ms 11 ms 9 ms 10.20.55.1
3 12 ms 12 ms 10 ms 172.30.9.33
4 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms 172.30.9.165
5 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms 12.91.232.13
6 29 ms 26 ms 27 ms cr2.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.152.202]
7 25 ms * 25 ms cr2.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.2.21]
8 31 ms 24 ms 27 ms cgr1.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.132.157]
9 30 ms 33 ms 40 ms ge6-37-1000M.ar2.DAL2.gblx.net [64.208.110.161]

10 * * 48 ms FACEBOOK-INC.ethernet12-1.csr1.DCA3.gblx.net [64
.215.81.234]
11 46 ms 47 ms 65 ms ae1.bb02.iad1.tfbnw.net [74.119.78.60]
12 47 ms 39 ms 42 ms ae1.dr02.ash4.tfbnw.net [74.119.78.148]
13 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms po509.csw01a.ash4.tfbnw.net [74.119.78.249]
14 115 ms 49 ms 47 ms www-10-01-ash4.facebook.com [66.220.158.11]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Terry>
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top