1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet won't connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by reneestrucking, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reneestrucking

    reneestrucking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    i just subscribed to cable internet 2 days ago. I went and bought a wireless router to work laptops in my home. Everything connect fine, but after turning off computer, the laptop connects to wireless router fine, but won't connect to internet explorer. Called wireless router company, and they said its working fine. Called Toshiba last night, tech told me to reset internet explorer, did that and still nothing. What more can I do to connect to internet?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    - Make and Exact model of Router, Modem or router/modem combination
    - Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
    - What windows version or other OS are running on each laptop Xp, Vista, 7, ubuntu etc
    - Do you have a Firewall - if so it may be blocking access - what firewall / security program do you have ?
    - If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
    - If using wireless encryption, try deleting the wireless profiles - post back results
    - Most laptops have a wireless switch - some a physical switch other use a combination of the FN key + one of the F key to toggle on/off - make sure this is on
    - Post back the status of all the modem and/or router lights - are they correct ?
    - Try booting into safe mode with networking, to do that tap F8 as the PC boots and choose from menu - post back the results here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    --

    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP

    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. reneestrucking

    reneestrucking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    i am running vista, and the firewall is the one that came on the computer. will try those steps and get back in a minute
     
  4. reneestrucking

    reneestrucking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Renee's Trucking>cmd/kipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ReneesTrucki-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-5A-BA-2B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c6d:1764:bdb9:3169%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.10(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268444003
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-46-B8-E7-00-1E-33-5E-70-40
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : NonHp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-61-19-8D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.NonHp
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Renee's Trucking>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you do not have DHCP set for wireless
    I suspect this is needed as its usually the default setting for routers

    To setup PC to use DHCP FOR vista
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Change-TCP-IP-settings

    but also check the following

     
  6. reneestrucking

    reneestrucking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    all of the above things in adminstrative tools are working
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you reset to obtain ip & DNS automatically
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918337

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice