1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet working in safe mode but not normal mode

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Palm123, Nov 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    My computer wouldn't boot past advanced options menu for a quite a while. So I was messing around in safe mode running anti virus software an it booted normally finally . But after that I went into add/remove programs and got rid of some stuff and I'm not sure if the internet was working before I did that because I did it right when the computer booted up again. However it does work in safe mode
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do a tcp/ip reset

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen )​

    For Windows 8 & 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menuu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
    Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
    But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    The internet works
     
  4. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    I'm just going to system restore it to kingdom come computers are not my forte
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK

    lets us know how you get on

    FYI
    tcp/ip for XP

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it p/color], which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Apparently restore was incomplete for some reason. I have to pick another date. If u are open to remote controlling my computer I have no problem with it
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we do have a problem , and do not allow, for your own protection

    see the rules here https://forums.techguy.org/help/rules/
     
  8. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Ok we'll I did what you said and nothing happened.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so the command did NOT work at all ?
    it just did nothing ?????
    strange

    and the answer to this question
     
  10. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9


    Also when I boot up A black window that says c:/ windows/system32/sychost.exe appears with a not saying. : windows cannot find c: program files/ user extension/client.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly then try again. To search for a file, click the start button , then click search ?
     
  11. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    I have avg 2015
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I suspect you have malware on the PC

    Best thing to do , is start a new thread in the virus/malware forum , as you are more likely to get a response on a new thread, rather than me moving this one
    and state the start up message
    windows cannot find c: program files/ user extension/client.exe
    And that the PC only works in safemode

    have a read here first
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/...before-posting-for-help-in-this-forum.943214/

    It can take 48hrs to get a reply as the forum is very busy
     
  13. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Are you sure I didn't just delete the driver when I was in add / remove programs Cause that's why I thought might have happened.

    But if that's no possible. Thanks for the help I'll try the virus forum
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,686
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Palm123 likes this.
  15. Palm123

    Palm123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    I read that first forum and one on this site before making this thread. I think I'm gona bring it in to a specialist. Thanks anyway
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1160816

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice