invalid back web ???????????

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
Every time I turn my system on, I get an error box that says "Invalid Back Web Application ID137903" Can any one tell me how to fix this?
~diver~
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
359
Well i did a search on "Invalid Back Web Application ID137903". And it brought back webpages that referred to spyware and how to remove it. So i suggest downloading, installing and updating Spybot, ad-aware and spywareblaster. All of which are found in my signature. Hopefully that should clear it up. post back with your how you go after doing that.
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
I downloaded spyware blaster 3.2. I will get back to you on this one when I see how well it does. I do like all the things it has to offer.
Thanks Zmaster
~diver~
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
359
i do recommend downloading both of the other programs aswell. My understanding of spyware blaster is that it doesn't remove the spyware thats already on your computer it only stops it from loading it onto your computer from once its installed.
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
I downloaded the spyware blaster and am highly impressed with it. I already have the spybot and have used hijack this several times. As for the Lavasoft Adaware, I had to uninstall it when I downloaded that SP2. I wasnt able to get that back as I was the spybot. When I turned the puter on this morn, I got the same error message. So I dont think the spy bot had anything to do with it, I have tried ot do some research on it too and have come up with nothing. Maybe a senior member or moderator can assist us in this.
~diver~
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
The last time I got backweb was when I installed some lousy Kodak software. I removed it by finding and deleting the .exe file then searching the registry and removing every item that mentioned backweb. (All that after I ran Spybot and AdAware)
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
359
thats wierd. i have sp2 on my computer but i haven't run ad-aware since i put sp2 on it. I think i will check it as soon as i get home.
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
zmaster said:
thats wierd. i have sp2 on my computer but i haven't run ad-aware since i put sp2 on it. I think i will check it as soon as i get home.
If you are referring to what I posted....to clarify...I have not installed SP2 as of yet and don't intend to until MS gets it sorted out.
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
Ok Wimpy.......what can Regestry Mechanic do for me on that back web thang? I own a license to Reg Mech of PC Tools. I will giv it a run and see what it comes up with. As for SP2. I have already crashed my system because of it and it took me a week to get my system back uup and running. I have to give "Thanks" to TSG members for that one!
~diver~
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
diver46 said:
Ok Wimpy.......what can Regestry Mechanic do for me on that back web thang? I own a license to Reg Mech of PC Tools. I will giv it a run and see what it comes up with. As for SP2. I have already crashed my system because of it and it took me a week to get my system back uup and running. I have to give "Thanks" to TSG members for that one!
~diver~
I'm not sure what it can do for you as I have never used it. I have used others and they always miss a few lines in the registry. Once again I manually removed "backweb.exe" through explorer, then ran Norton Win Doctor (same idea as Reg mech.). Then searched the registry and deleted any item pertaining to backweb. Worked for me.
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
Reg mech did it! it found the back web with the same ID # and It has now been deleted. It found 5 other problems that have been repaired or deleted.
~diver~
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
diver46 said:
Reg mech did it! it found the back web with the same ID # and It has now been deleted. It found 5 other problems that have been repaired or deleted.
~diver~
Good. Now I suggest you search for a file called "backweb.exe" and delete it if you find it.
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
OK Wimpy, my problem has yet to be solved as I started drinking champagne before the race was over. I am thinking I need to look in my prgogram files. I am betting that you are going to tell me that its somewhere else.
~diver~
 

Guyzer

Guy
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
12,131
diver46 said:
OK Wimpy, my problem has yet to be solved as I started drinking champagne before the race was over. I am thinking I need to look in my prgogram files. I am betting that you are going to tell me that its somewhere else.
~diver~

Yup I will..... :eek: Click "start", then "search", then select "all files and folders". Then type in the name backweb.exe and hit search or ok, whatever shows up. When the search stops delete all references that mention backweb.
Let me know how you make out. :cool:
 

diver46

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
65
Well Wimpy, I did as you instructed and did several types of searches. the search found no reference to or containing "backweb.exe" (scratches head in confusion and flips a burger on the grill for Wimpy)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top