1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Invalid IP. Acquiring address, but never connects

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Yokura, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Yokura

    Yokura Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I've searched invalid ip's, and to be honest, I really don't understand what half the threads are saying to do. Or what is even really being said. WEP security, WPA, what? [I feel a little stupid ;_;]

    Well, I'm using a wireless network card [I think that's what it's called. Bought it and opened up the computer, and stuck it in one of the PCI things]. It's installed, and the program I use to configure stuff is Airlink Cardbus & PCI Wireless Configuration Utility.

    The wireless network i connect to is dlink, and I was using it fine a while ago. Then my dad changed the security key/ password/ something that you type in for access. I entered in the new one, and it doesn't work anymore. I've kept hitting the Renew IP button on the Airlink utility, but it doesn't want to connect for me. it just keeps going acquiring.... and goes on forever [at least, i get impatient after a good ten minutes and disable it. The rightclickonwirelessconnection -> repair, also takes forever, and never works]

    So... did the rightclickonwirelessconnection->properties, and it said Invalid IP, and I've no idea how to fix that or why it did that.

    It's 12am, and I'm kind of headdesking cause i have homework that i haven't started on. [I'm on my mom's computer typing this up right now.] If there's anything else, or more specifics that I could give, I'd be happy to. I am pretty computer illiterate when it comes to the engineering/hardware/THE ACTUAL COMPUTER PART, but I'm not completely stupid [I think anyways].

    Any help at all would be awesome, and I'd love you forever ;_; I'll give you cookies? >:
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    I'm afraid the short answer to this is you probably made a mistake in entering the security key. Can you check that by re-entering it twice when trying to connect before we go into deeper possibilities? Don't rely on stored information you input before because the likelihood is that it's wrong.

     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Delete the wireless profile so that when you try to connect you will be prompted again for the key.

    What kind of encryption? If WEP is it a HEX key or ascii passcode?
     
  4. Yokura

    Yokura Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I've inputted the password more times than I can count. Deleted the wireless network, and readded it. uninstalled and reinstalled the configuration utility (At least, I think I did the uninstall, reinstall correctly...)

    It could be that dad gave me the password wrong, so I'll keep checking with that. But I really don't think so...

    It is uhm.... WPA PSK, TKIP. Whatever that means.
     
  5. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    It means temporal key integrity protocol but did your Dad give you a password or a passphrase? He could have used anything between eight and 63 characters and case sensitivity may also come into it. There's nothing else that could be wrong now except that password.
     
  6. Yokura

    Yokura Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Er, is there a difference between the password and the passphrase? There's only one spot to put in something, and it does the dotdotdot password protected text thing.

    I'll keep checking with the passwords O: If it doesn't work.. then... well... I don't know. I'll try and see what I'm doing wrong ^^;
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    If it's an old adapter it may not support WPA, or you may need to download and install the latest driver to get WPA capability.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914800

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice