1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

iomega home network hard drive slow copying

Discussion in 'Networking' started by goodlad, May 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. goodlad

    goodlad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Hi tech guys,

    I recently purchased an iomega home network hard drive NAS for storing and streaming movies etc.

    My issue is this; my windows pcs recognise the drive, and assigns a different drive for each of the folders (eg movies, pictures etc) but when I copy from one folder to another it takes AGES, not exceeding 1.5mb per second. Is this a problem with the setup or are the write times dreadful on these things?

    Thanks in advance for any help...

    Neil:
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, many low-end NAS boxes have pretty poor access times. Also, the operation you're doing is doubly slow, since you're copying it across the network twice.

    Are you using 100mbit connections or do you have gigabit? What is the specific model of Iomega NAS you have?
     
  3. goodlad

    goodlad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Hi John,

    Thanks for the response.

    It is an IOMEGA network hard drive - http://tinyurl.com/yesk7rt

    I am doing the copying from a laptop on wireless G. However, I would have thought (perhaps naively) that the drive would do it all internally rather than going back and forward across the network if it was simply folder to folder copying - although I guess from the laptop's perspective, it is copying across drives so therefore it has to go via the laptop and therefore across the net twice.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Oh, copying using wireless and having two transfers explains your results! Wireless SMB transfers are slow anyway, and doing them twice on the same wireless link is really slow!

    If you're going to do file transfers of any size, at least connect with a wired connection for the transfer. Of course, not speaking French, I didn't get that much from that page, but it appears that the drive does have a gigabit interface. :)
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Even with 802.11g 1.5 mega bits per second seems slow. With a good signal, no interference and no other traffic on the network you should be able to get around 12 Mbps I think. Maybe you're confusing bits and bytes? 1.5 MBps is 1.5 * 8 or 12 Mbps.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Terry, remember that he's copying between folders on the NAS, so the data is coming and going on the wireless link, so he's cutting the transfer speed in half. I'm thinking he's talking bytes here, since that's what the transfers would be reported in.

    Given the 25-30 average real throughput of an 802.11g link, a total throughput of 3mbytes/sec (1.5mbytes each way) seems pretty normal.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Agreed. That's what I was saying in different words. :) 1.5 mega Bytes is pretty much the max. to expect; 1.5 mega bits is bad news.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, yes, 1.5mbits/sec would be pretty ugly! :D
     
  9. goodlad

    goodlad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I think its Megabytes per second, as it took about 20 mins to copy a film, it has got a gigabit ethernet; so will connect wired to copy next time and see what happens.

    If I was to setup the drive as one drive letter rather than several, would the drive copy internally without sending across the network both ways?

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    Neil
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Does the NAS include a processor and one of its functions is "copy"? Probably not, so the processor that does the copy is your computer. That means that your computer needs to read bytes into its memory and write them back to the external drive.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Copying between folders on the NAS has to go to your computer unless you have a higher end model. I have a pair of D-Link NAS units, a DNS-321 and a DNS-323, there's no internal copy available. I also have a higher end model, the Synology DS209, they provide a web based file manager that does the copies directly within the NAS, and it's lightning fast for that box.

    For the inexpensive ones, if you have the option to connect using something like Telnet or SSH, you can use the Linux copy or move commands to move stuff directly. That's how I moved 300gigs on my D-Link boxes when I reorganized my folder structure.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/925633